Any UK based Engineers please read this...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by R.Youden, Sep 6, 2007.

1. R.Youden macrumors 68020

R.Youden

Can you please sign this petition, it is about time we got some recognition:

Government Petition

2. SpookTheHamster macrumors 65816

SpookTheHamster

Doing mechanical engineering at uni and I'm already on that petition. It seems that companies want to make their unskilled staff feel better about themselves, and so give them a good title. Sorry Mr. Gas Man, you are at best a technician, not at all an engineer.

From what I've heard, the word engineer derives from words meaning ingenious, implying one who thinks of something new. A technician or mechanic fixes whatever it is the engineer came up with.

3. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

R.Youden

I am an electronics engineer and I design very high-level electronics. The number of times I have friends ring me up asking them to fix a washing machine or something because all they know is the generic term 'engineer'. Whilst I have respect for the people who are technicians, they are not engineers and it is about time people realise that. I am serious considering not working in the UK they way we are treated. :mad:

4. SupadudeX macrumors member

Anyone want to fill me in on what going on in the UK?

5. adroit macrumors 6502

adroit

+1

LOL, but the questions to me usually have something to do with fridges or a new septic system for cabins.

6. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

R.Youden

Basically being an engineer in the UK is now a joke. When applying for mortgages and loans and you are a fully qualified engineer which a degree or even a doctorate, you are classed a non / semi skilled workers.