Any update from OWC?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bevo, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. bevo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #1
    Still waiting on the OWC pci-e SSD upgrades... Any news? They released a prototype like a year ago at some convention.
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  3. gottria macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #4
    I finally bit the bullet and picked up a 512gb for my MBA 2013. No I just have to figure out how to clone the old ssd to the new ssd considering there are no Apple PCIe to USB 3 devices out.
     
  4. Agent-P macrumors 68030

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    The Tri-State Area
    #5
    Any update from OWC?


    That's the main reason I haven't gone this route yet with my rMBP. I need an external case first. I don't want to go a roundabout way of cloning to a normal external drive, then replacing the SSD, booting from the cloned external, and cloning to the new ssd. Seems like an unnecessary amount of steps.
     
  5. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #6
    You got that on eBay, I assume?
     
  6. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #7
    This process is actually so ridiculously easy there's absolutely no reason why you should think it's awkward.

    There's a free (shareware) program called SuperDuper! that will clone a drive in a couple of clicks.

    Then to boot from a cloned drive it's just a matter of clicking on something in the control panel ("Startup Disk" pane).
     
  7. Agent-P macrumors 68030

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    The Tri-State Area
    #8
    Does it matter that the cloning process goes SSD > HDD > SSD? That's my main hangup with it. If it was SSD all the way through then I wouldn't have reservations about it.
     
  8. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #9
    Nope, doesn't matter at all. They're all drives. :)
     
  9. gottria macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #10
    What about if you have bootcamp running windows 8.1? Will it still clone everything over?

    ----------

    Yes sir. Paid more than I wanted but needed it.
     

Share This Page