Any USB drives >250GB confirmed working with Alu MB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mcdj, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I have a G-Drive 250GB that works great on the Alu MB via USB bus power (no Y-cable needed, no AC adapter). I bought a 500GB G-Drive but it only works with a Y-cable on the MB, and does not work at all with my Xbox 360...the 250gb works fine with the Xbox. I bought the 500 specifically to transfer movies to the Xbox from the MB, so I'm bummed it doesn't work. An AC adapter would of course work, but it's not practical given my setup.

    Logic tells me that if a drive works with the MB, it should work with the Xbox.

    So, I'm wondering if anyone has another brand of 500GB...WD, Seagate, etc. that works on bus power with the Alu MB. If no one can confirm a 500GB works, does anyone have a 320GB working? Again, I'm looking for drives that work on bus power only.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Queen of Spades macrumors 68030

    Queen of Spades

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    The Iron Throne
    #2
    I have a 320GB WD Passport that I've been using perfectly fine on bus power only. Haven't had any problems at all. Hopefully someone else can post up about a 500GB..
     
  3. mrrish macrumors regular

    mrrish

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
  4. mcdj thread starter macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    MyBooks are not bus powered, but thanks for playing.
     
  5. Brien macrumors 68020

    Brien

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #5
    I have a 320GB LaCie rugged that works fine bus-powered on both my MBP and my girlfriend's MB (both late 2008). I would assume the 500GB model would be fine as well.
     
  6. mcdj thread starter macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    A similar assumption is what lead me to buy the G-Drive. I am no longer assuming anything when it comes to these drives. There are too many variables. From what I understand, the 500GB notebook drives these portables contain are of the 3 platter variety, and thus require more juice to spin up.
     
  7. TheHoff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #7
    320 gig 7200 rpm WD S.Black works fine in a non-powered semi-generic enclosure, no Y-cable needed though it was provided.
     
  8. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #8
    Wow, so the guy misunderstands and you go back to instajerk. :rolleyes:
    Over at Apple discussions someone mentioned they had a 500GB passport that apparently wouldn't work on their late 2008 MacBook. I tried to find the thread again but I couldn't, but I bet you can given some time. :)
     
  9. jade macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    #9
    +1
    I have the same.
     
  10. mcdj thread starter macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    who's being a jerk? I thanked him! ;). Geez I only mentioned BUS POWERED like 48 times in the OP.

    Thanks for the 500gb report. Looking like 320 is the ceiling.
     
  11. 199708 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #11
    my samsung 500gig worked with only 1 usb cable just before i chucked it inside my new macbook.
    seems like its powerful enough. im glad tho, having only 2 usb ports.
     
  12. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #12
    Yeh but why do you think that is? I think it's rather silly if you ask me.
     
  13. Philflow macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #13
    There's no reason why 500GB WD in an enclosure would not work. It uses less power than many 320GB drives.
     

Share This Page