Any Volume licensed Bootcampers out there?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jeremy.king, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #1
    Last night I attempted to install a copy of XP SP2 from a copy of a Volume License install CD (my employer is a MS partner). During the Windows install I get a "invalid function" error - so I am wondering if anyone has had success installing from a Volume License disc? I am going to try the original CD next week, so hopefully its just an issue with the burned copy.

    Thanks for your response.

    Also, somehow the Windows installer knows what you are trying to install and won't accept legit keys from another type (Retail vs. OEM vs. Volume). Is there a way around this? *I'm not pirating here, just trying to avoid another trip to the office* I tried an OEM XP Pro CD, but it wouldn't accept my Volume License key - seems I can only use the Volume License install CD.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    My site license copy of Windows XP SP2 x32 worked just fine on my Mac mini. I installed Windows twice just fine.

    The OEM and retail discs take different keys. They're not compatible with different media sets. Even if they are the "correct" keys for that version of XP.
     
  3. MagicUK macrumors regular

    MagicUK

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #3
    Running Parallels, but no problem with XP SP1 Volume license disk & key.
     
  4. jeremy.king thread starter macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #4
    It appears that OEM and site license discs do as well. :(
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Which is why I try to order as much hardware without an OEM license. We have site license already. Discs are hard to manage as it is.

    When making a slipstream disc I make 3 copies. One OEM, retail, and site license.
     
  6. jeremy.king thread starter macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #6
    Its good to know it works for you guys, I hope its just a matter of using the original CD. Wish me luck - I'll be trying next Tues night.
     
  7. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #7
    yep. i had this problem first time around, use the original media or try burning at a slower speed!
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Or just verify the disc...

    I use nLite instead of Microsoft's deployment tools. Works fine via Parallels (stupid .NET...) and the .iso burns just fine.
     
  9. jeremy.king thread starter macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #9
    I found out we get .iso files not install cds, so I will be burning my own copy this time.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Just use the right image for the right key then.

    Good luck!
     
  11. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    Are you sure you're a MS certified partner? ;)
     
  12. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #12
    They should all install exactly the same. The only thing that changes between the version is a file that it loads during the second part of setup.

    The file tells the installer whether it is Pro, Home, MCE, or Tablet, and if its OEM, Retail, or Corporate.

    I'd try burning the ISO image onto a fresh disc. I've gotten that message before during an install due to some scratches on the bottom of the disc.
     
  13. jeremy.king thread starter macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #13
    It was my disc. I downloaded a new .iso and burned a CD - worked like a charm.

    Windows on my new intel mini is surprisingly fast :eek:
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    With dual core and about 1 GB of RAM it's great.
     
  15. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    I'll second that :)
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    I'm still doing fine on my Pentium-M 1.8 GHz laptop. I just wish I had more RAM...

    Waiting for a new MBP!
     
  17. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #17
    Site wide license, installed and ran fine. I <3 my job.
     

Share This Page