Any way around activating in store?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NoahPoCh, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. NoahPoCh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. NoahPoCh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #3
    Better yet, do I have to sign a two-year agreement in-store?
     
  4. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    If it's a nice day, they may agree to let you do just outside the store.
     
  5. Bambeezer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Does the in store activation really do anything that using iTunes at home won't do? When my GF bought her iphone on first day, they sent her home to activate because of server issues. By that point they already had her money and contract.
     
  6. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Yes, it assures AT&T that you have actually activated it.

    There were news stories that mentioned you would be able to pay an additional fee for unlocked iPhones here in the US, but I think they said it would be at a later date....and that date doesn't seem to have arrived yet.

    Of course there are always the unlocked iPhones from other markets like Hong Kong.
     
  7. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #7
    Man you're lucky...my Apple guy took me to his "private corner" behind the 3G display in the Seattle store...actually, I don't want to talk about it any more. :)
     
  8. tchait macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #8
    I opened my iPhone 3G at home

    My old SIM card wouldn't work with the new iPhone, so the ATT store let me take the iPhone 3G home unopened. I didn't have a phone for 20 minutes, but I didn't mind.
     
  9. ubersalad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #9
    Were you violated by the u-village employee? haha...
     
  10. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #10
    (laughs) I thought it was a little odd, especially with the trainee watching.
     
  11. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    Sounds like they didn't know what they were doing. They are supposed to activate the new SIM and deactivate your old one.
     
  12. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #12
    I'm not sure that's true, they didn't do anything to my SIM from my 2G; and told me both phones would be active for several hours after the upgrade.
     
  13. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    I'm pretty sure that by default when they activate one it deactivates the other...but yes...there is some lag time between.
     
  14. doodads macrumors 6502

    doodads

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    East BF, TN
    #14

    If the phone was unopened, how did you know that your old SIM card wouldn't work???
     

Share This Page