Any way to disable backup when updating?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gusapple, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. gusapple macrumors 6502a

    gusapple

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    The alphabetically sixth to last state.
    #1
    I honestly need to start from scratch and do a clean install. I also am having to wait about 2 hours for a backup when I don't need it. I have disabled the backup while syncing, but it doesn't make a difference. Any way to get around this?
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    If you click the cross in the iTunes display as the backup starts it will stop.
     
  3. gusapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gusapple

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    The alphabetically sixth to last state.
    #3
    No, I am updating to iOS 4 and it is insisting on a full backup. It doesn't update in the top, it does so in a separate window and only allows me to hit stop.
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I get you now! But I still don't have any suggestions. Looking at the threads in the Spy it seems to be a common problem.
     
  5. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #5
    Put the iPhone in recovery or DFU mode, and it will not backup first
     
  6. gusapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gusapple

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    The alphabetically sixth to last state.
    #6
    I have it! You have to download, then alt + click the restore button.

    After that go to [user]>library>itunes>iphone software updates> then select the software for 4.0!
     
  7. Paradigm macrumors member

    Paradigm

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7
    This option failed for me: (Error Code 3002)
     
  8. vabunuc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Lanoka Harbor, NJ
    #8
    do you lose your txts and saved stuff that way?
     
  9. gusapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gusapple

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    The alphabetically sixth to last state.
    #9
    I probably will, but if you have a backup that you've done in the near past, you can restore from that.
     
  10. Espo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    Thanks!
     
  11. robpow macrumors regular

    robpow

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #11
    Mine failed with the same error too after I gave up on the update backup as it didn't move at all for over 1/2 hour.
     
  12. srkislia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #12
    Cancel Backup?

    If I manually backup my iPhone 3g then cancel the automatic backup, would by iPhone restore in iOS4, or would my manual backup downgrade back to iOS3? :confused:
     
  13. Turambar87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #13
    Restore instead of update

    I have an iPhone 3G and the backup was taking way too long during the iOS 4 install. Tried to use the restore option instead and it worked. The phone was restored to iOS 4 and then my data was restored from an earlier backup. All in under 15 mins. Not bad at all. :) Apple just needs to fix the damn bug that makes the backup take all of infinity to run during the normal install..!!!:D
     

Share This Page