Any Way to Disable Stupid Mission Control/Spaces Text Bar?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by rick3000, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. rick3000 macrumors 6502a

    rick3000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Coast
    #1
    I just updated to El Capitan, so far everything is great and very snappy except Mission Control and Spaces. In my opinion, they have completely ruined the ability to use Mission Control and Spaces at a glance. Now when you trigger Mission Control you get a text menu bar first, and have to move the mouse to the top of the screen to get an actual preview of each Space. I don't find text that says 'Desktop 1, Desktop 2, etc' all that useful.

    Is there is anyway to disable this? I did not see an option for it in System Preferences, maybe there is a terminal command to disable this?

    Thank you!
     
  2. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
  3. chrisherbert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #3
    I have mission control mapped to a hot corner - specifically the top left - and the thumbnails automatically appear. That's probably because my mouse is already at the top, but it does mean I don't have to see that bar.
     
  4. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #4
    Maybe this will help

    http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...-way-to-completely-disable-spaces-in-yosemite
     
  5. pruppert macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #5
    Latest alpha version of BetterTouchTool has an action to automatically show the spaces previews on activating Mission Control.
     
  6. rick3000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rick3000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Coast
    #6
    Thanks! This is great, but it has a bit of a delay. Hopefully Apple fixes this.
     
  7. sibcc macrumors member

    sibcc

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Location:
    La Jolla CA
    #7
    When I go to the upper hot corner it works as expected; however, using a mouse button brings up the text. Why would anyone want this behavior. It can't be all that difficult to develope a proper pager like UNIX and X has had for over a decade. Oh, that's right, OS X had one, but then they decided it needed changing. Even on my 30 inch matte screens, something else BTW that Apple changed to the detriment of eyes everywhere, I find split view cumbersome and poorly thought out.
     
  8. colourfastt macrumors 6502a

    colourfastt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #8
    That's because Apple has forgotten that not everyone using a Mac is a 20yo hipster sitting in Starbucks and trying to look "cool"; some of us actually use our Macs for work.
     
  9. dsemf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    #9
    For my workflow, the 2 phase Expose/Mission Control method works well. When I want to change windows within the current desktop, I don't have to have the overhead and distraction of the preview in all of the other spaces.

    If I want to see everything I just move the mouse up. I also have the top right corner set as a hot corner which activates Mission Control with the previews active.

    If you invoke Mission Control while in a full screen window, you get the full preview since there is no active Desktop, but it will display the windows on Desktop 1.

    DS
     

Share This Page