Any way to fix a broken finder? (PB1 to DP)

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Gary500, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. Gary500 macrumors regular

    Gary500

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #1
    Going from PB1 -> DP6 breaks the finder (I had Xtrafinder installed) . Any way to fix it? :confused:
     
  2. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
  3. frydrych macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    I just did by reinstalling Yosemite, restart CMD+R, then install OS X. Works like a charm. Also did and upgrade from pb1 to dp6 and had a non working finder.

    Edit: I didn't have any finder add ons installed so I guess the PB1 to DP6 isn't optimal...
     
  4. Gary500 thread starter macrumors regular

    Gary500

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #4
    How did you reinstall it (I'm new to OS X) ? You mean just click on the package file again?
     
  5. Tubamajuba macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Done with MacRumors, the trolls have won
    #5
    Check your build number in About This Mac. It should be 14A329f for DP6. When I reinstalled Yosemite using the recovery tools, it installed PB1.
     
  6. frydrych macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    Right, just noticed... PB1 instead. Guess I'll just have to wait for PB2...
     
  7. Tubamajuba macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Done with MacRumors, the trolls have won
    #7
    You could try PB1 to DP5 to DP6. With the exception of a harmless bug with the address bar in Safari, that path worked perfectly fine for me.

    The only danger is not knowing if any small little bugs that pop up as a result of this unorthodox update method will ever be squashed without a full reinstall.
     
  8. awpitchy macrumors member

    awpitchy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Mac World
    #8
    Having the same issue. Dont fancy reinstalling again :(

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Nwashko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #9
    I had the same issue until I downgraded back to PB1, then updated to DP5, and then DP6. Now Finder works again.
     
  10. hesher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #10
    May I ask how you roll back to pb1?
     
  11. Nwashko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #11
    I just redownloaded it through the App Store and installed it like normal.
     
  12. hesher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #12
    I read this too late :)
    I'm in the process of a one hour and a half of the machine restoration.
     
  13. Nwashko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #13
    Fair enough! Hope it works out for you!
     

Share This Page