Carrier Any way to get the "CDMA" model on iPhone Upgrade Program with AT&T?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by El3ctronics, Sep 9, 2016.

  1. El3ctronics macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Kinda of a niche situation but I made a reservation last night via the iPhone Upgrade Program for a 7 Plus with AT&T service. I wanted to know if it was possible to get the Verizon/Sprint model when I go to pick it up since that device will be unlocked and will work with all carriers (both GSM & CDMA) whereas the standard AT&T/T-Mobile model will only work with GSM networks. Anyone know if this is possible?
     
  2. spoa94 macrumors 6502a

    spoa94

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #2
    Knowing Apple I would say no
     
  3. CAWjr macrumors 6502

    CAWjr

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    More than likely, you will have to wait until the no-SIM models are available at the end of the year & you will have to pay for the phone up front & in full.
     
  4. pedzsan macrumors member

    pedzsan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Location:
    Leander, TX
    #4
    I toiled with this question as well. I have AT&T Next, discovered that the AT&T phone can't do all carriers and was trying to figure out what to do. I finally concluded this: for this particular phone, in 12 months, 99% chance is I will turn it in for the iPhone 8. As others have mentioned, it will be a 10th year edition. And 99% chance, I will stay with AT&T the whole 12 months. So I decided to not worry about it (at least not this year). Rumor has it that the new modems used in the AT&T models could support all the carriers so I'm hoping we won't have this dilemma next year.
     
  5. KisakiSama macrumors member

    KisakiSama

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    #5
    I'm on AT&T and when I went to make my reservation, only Verizon models were available. It let me reserve one without issue. So hopefully it'll be ok? As long as they have stock... I guess we'll see what happens next week.
     
  6. superflush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #6
    It'd be helpful for people to report back what ends up happening when they try this. But my feeling is that you need an active plan (or sign up for a new plan) thay corresponds with the carrier you chose when selecting the phone.

    I have a similar issue, in that I got a 6s Plus last year with my T-Mobile, but I have since moved overseas and no longer have that T-Mobile plan. The Apple Store app says that I am eligible to upgrade to iPhone 7 Plus, but I am skeptical about whether it'll work. I imagine it might be a problem if I try to check-out in person and I don't have an active T-Mobile plan.
     
  7. AcesOverKings macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #7
    I enrolled in the program with last night's purchase, and as an AT&T customer, I was only able to select the GSM model. I tried to get a Verizon one, but was stopped when it asked for existing phone #, billing ZIP, and last 4 of SSN. It then tries to look up your wireless account, which, of course, I don't have with Verizon. But my rationale was the exact same as Pedzsan above. I can keep status quo for 1 year and by then, this modem BS should be resolved.

    Edit: I wonder if, after receiving the phone at my house next Friday, I could return it to Apple as an exchange for the Verizon model??
     
  8. bamafan33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #8
    I preordered using the iPhone Upgrade Program last night. I have ATT as my carrier but they were sold out of the phone I wanted so I selected Sprint. I'm hoping when I go to the Apple Store next week for my reservation I can still pickup my phone, but I'm worried they might not let me due to me picking a Sprint carrier phone for ATT even though it's unlocked.
     

Share This Page