Any way to optimize Macbook for Video?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by R1cka1me1da, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. R1cka1me1da macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #1
    is there Any way to optimize Macbook A1181 for Video editing?

    any way to work around and get Final Cut X? I have Final Cut 7 but I want all the cool plugins they have for Final Cut X that they showed me in school.
     
  2. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #2
    Unfortunately The A1181 model number isn't a great help as that covers all whitebooks that have removable batteries.

    Is there any chance you could get some more info about it to help us?

    First off, go to Applications, Utilities and select System Information.

    It should give you a hardware overview.

    Could you let us know what the model identifier is.

    It will be something like MacBook1,1
     
  3. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #3
    Also, the current version of Final Cut X requires Mavericks, and that will only run on the Early 2009 MacBook. Along with the 9400m and 256mb VRAM as a minimum.

    The Intel GMA in the MacBook's really aren't suited to video editing. iMovie will work, but most any high end processing will be very slow or not work at all.

    My only suggestion is to get a newer MacBook Pro. My 2010 with the 330m was around $650 when I got it. It works fine with FCP X. Newer is better, but it's what I was willing to spend.
     
  4. R1cka1me1da thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #4
    Theres gotta be a way around it haha somehow i can get mavericks and upgrade video...any way?

    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook2,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB21.00A5.B07
    SMC Version (system): 1.17f0
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    The best OS that you can run on that machine is going to be Lion (10.7). You can purchase it online from the Apple Store!

    I am not sure how you would go about with Final Cut Pro. The video card (integrated) will not be suited best for the task.
     
  6. R1cka1me1da thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #6
    so do you guys know if I can open up FC 7 projects on to FC Pro?
     
  7. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #7
    You should be able to. I found an article with links to an application that can convert between them here
     
  8. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    That machine is generally not very well suited for the tasks associated with Final Cut. But, if you're a very patient person, I supposed it could work. I just wouldn't really recommend it. Those graphics chips sometimes struggle with youtube, let alone higher end video production.
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9

    A Core Duo (MacBook 1,1) I had to use for a while struggled at times with 720p. I can't imagine an early Core 2 Duo in a MacBook 2,1 could be much better.
     
  10. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #10
    There is a way around it, but it would be EXTREMELY complicated.
     
  11. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    The CPU is better however the graphics are not and are the bottleneck of the older macbooks.
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    Like I said, encoding is also an issue. Core Duo and Core 2 Duo machines take a long time to export your videos.
     

Share This Page