iPhone Any way to unlock iPhone 4 verizon ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by denissianto, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. denissianto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    Are there ANY way by any means to unlock iPhone 4 verizon ?

    Locked iPhone 4 verizon allows me to send/receive SMS, Data, receive calls. However, outgoing calls seems not allowed. It always immediately call ended.

    Please help me.. :( Thank you
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  3. denissianto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #3
    iOs 5.1.1 / 9B206
     
  4. dhlizard, Nov 27, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012

    dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    You have a CDMA phone (Sprint and Verizon), very different from the GSM phones which most of us have.
    If you are trying to us it on a GSM network, you are out of luck as it has no sim slot.
    And it is carrier activated so it must be activated by Verizon.
    It can be flashed to another CDMA carrier by someone who has the technology to do it.

    https://community.verizonwireless.com/message/777939

    Buy the way, your baseband is found in Settings/General/About/Modem firmware (but it doesn't matter for your phone)
     
  5. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #5
    I cannot believe that people still do not know the difference between GSM and CDMA.:confused:
     
  6. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #6
    If a subsidy lock was the cause of your issue (and it's not because it's not relevant to a Verizon iPhone 4) then you wouldn't be able to send/receive SMS or receive calls either.

    It's not just the SIM slot but GSM support entirely that doesn't exist on the 4. People tend to assume that SIM = GSM but that's not always the case.

    I can -- plenty of examples every day both online and IRL.
     
  7. denissianto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #7
    Does flashing to another cdma, makes "iPhone is not activated" message disappear?

    Btw, I've flashed this iPhone 4 using dfs cdmatool.. It worked, but 'iPhone is not activated' message do still appears every reboot. Until one time, iPhone got out of battery, and when I restarted it.. phone function to call out is not working anymore. I wasn't able to call at all ! data, sms was fully ok. receiving call was also fully ok..

    I'm guessing maybe this has to do with iPhone not activated??
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    The phone must be activated by whatever carrier you have flashed it to.
     
  9. denissianto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #9
    Are there any possibility for me to activate it by my own means/tools/software?
    My carrier is a government carrier, and due to high level of corruption, I am charged hefty go-inside-his-own-pocket price to do so.
     
  10. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #10
    it would be simpler to sell your phone and by a gsm unlocked one or a gsm locked to the carrier you want. Maybe you can even swap somebody for theirs.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Well said.
    The iphone 4 is what $150 or so now sold used?
    Why not get one for the network that you want it for?
    Make your life simpler.
     
  12. denissianto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #12
    I'm sorry, I don't mean to be rude. But can you comprehend the question more clearly ? I am not that idiot, that I don't know those options you are providing me. It's that I need a CDMA iPhone ! Otherwise I wouldn't go with this much hassle either.

    I wanted CDMA iPhone to work with my local cdma carrier.
    Thanks for the not-so-helpful suggestion.
     
  13. labman, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012

    labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #13
    Don't be rude you want it reflashed not unlocked completely different . Most people here are not into that. It's a completely different. Google reflashing cdma iPhone etc. Allot of people also aren't going to help with a restricted cdma phone because it's usually done for a reason.
     

Share This Page