Any work arounds for updating apps?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by ajiuo, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. ajiuo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #1
    They act like they update... But then when I go back in to the AppStore it says they need to update again... I've checked version numbers and they are not changing.
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Could just be a bug in the 10 beta...
    Delete the app, and reinstall.
     
  3. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #3
    Update them using iTunes.
     
  4. ajiuo thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #4
    Hell no! I hate connecting my phone to iTunes... It always does weird syncing crap that I don't want.

    I might try deleting.
     
  5. matty.p macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Use Update All instead of each one individually
     
  6. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #6
    I have apps downloaded from multiple stores. Rather than switching account, I prefer using iTunes to update. And this can also keep my app library up to date.
    I don't think iPhone can live without even touching computer.
     
  7. kch50428 macrumors 6502

    kch50428

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    North Iowa
    #7
    It's better now than it used to be... iTunes is the way to go if you're having issues with the AppStore updates on a device - I try that before deleting and reinstalling apps... that's a last resort for me.
     
  8. Fontvnilla macrumors newbie

    Fontvnilla

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    This seemed to work for me. Go to Settings - iTunes & App Store - select your ID then View Apple ID - enter your password - close settings

    My apps updated fine after doing this.
     
  9. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #9
    This has solved it for me! Thanks.
     
  10. unobtainium macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #10
    Odd - when I go there it doesn't even ask for my password, so I can't get it to work.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 21, 2016 ---
    Has this actually worked for anyone?
     
  11. megalaser macrumors 6502

    megalaser

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #11
    update all has not worked for me, no apps will install at all including purchased ones and none will update. I just tried purchasing a new app too and it won't install. I tried signing out of my iTunes account and in again and that does not help . . . . . someone said try updating the app using iTunes? But there is only the option to remove and then install with each full sync . . . any workarounds that anyone has found appreciated - thanks
     
  12. bertimus2002 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #12
    Waze was stuck for me yesterday so I removed and installed via iTunes. However the app wouldn't launch so I cleared the iPhone RAM without a hard restart and ever since then it's back and working again. And my phone found its speed again.
     
  13. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #13
    For those installed but outdated apps, you can click "update" to update certain apps in iTunes. Note you need to explicitly tell iTunes to update apps otherwise iTunes will not update any app you have.
     
  14. megalaser macrumors 6502

    megalaser

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #14
    Thanks but how do I tell iTunes to update apps? I only see an option to remove an installed app or install one prior to a sync
     
  15. matty.p macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    Update all works for me when you use the force touch menu but not when you click the button in app.
     
  16. megalaser macrumors 6502

    megalaser

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #16
    Not for me unfortunately
     
  17. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #17
    Yeah. Typically you can only see option for "remove" or "install".
    But when your iPhone has an app with version number lower than the app in iTunes library, you will see "update" rather than "remove".
    Long story short: when your iTunes library has newer version of an app you have installed on iPhone, iTunes will allow you to "update".
     
  18. Aliknos, Jun 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016

    Aliknos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    #18
    So my Facebook Messenger decided to upadte itself. It all happenned naturaly without a problem but was stuck at 99%. The app itself had updated (showing the blue dot next to the name and not being dark or anything). But when I tried to open the app,it wouldn't open. So I decided to uninstall it and reinstall it again thinking that would solve the problem. I deleted it but the App Store shows the app "downloading" at 0% for some time now. I have tried hard reset,removing my Apple ID and re-adding it,even trying to dl thourgh my (crashing but thats another story )fb whoch of course didnt work. What can I do?Can I install it through iTunes?I surely can't live without messenger until Tuesday (purported date of the next beta which MIGHT solve the problem). What else should I do?

    UPDATE:Tried soft reset (holding down power button and then pressing home until it goes back to home screen). Now App Store recognizes that messenger is not on my device. I hit the little cloud,the wheel starts spinning and after 2-3 seconds it goes back to the "cloud" state
     
  19. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #19
    Try to install it through iTunes. Mine so far has no issue whatsoever. Must be lucky.
     
  20. krishmk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #20
    Instead of using Update, update all will fix this issue.
     
  21. Aliknos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    #21
    Just downloaded it through iTUNES. Download was successful yet we are still at very basic problem. Messenger refuses to open and I don't get any notifications from it whatsoever.Soft and hard resets didn't fix it. Is there something else I can do or I'm screwed for good?

    To understand what I mean,the app is pressable but it goes a bit blacker and that's it,it doesn't open. I even tried opening it through App Store but the button there does nothing and nor does the in-facebook button. It's only "visually" on my device. Nothing more. I can see the app being there,it is in my settings,it downloads on my apple watch,bit it doesnt open
     
  22. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #22
    on my 6 i didn't have any updating issues really. most times it kinda hung on updating for a second then would eventually start.
     
  23. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #23
    Given that web version of messenger works also pretty well, I suggest you use web version until next beta is out.
    I also use Messenger and mine works good.
     
  24. playmakerx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #24
    Sounds exactly like what happens to google maps on my iPhone. I tried force reboot, relogging in apple id, switch apple ids, resetting network setting, install via itunes, etc. Still haven't solved it.
     
  25. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #25
    Did you get a screenshot when you tried the soft reset?
     

Share This Page