Anybody driving a 2560x1440 display with a 2013 MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by zephonic, Aug 20, 2013.

  1. zephonic macrumors 65816

    zephonic

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    greater L.A. area
    #1
    I'd like to know, as I am considering an external display for mine.

    Alternatively, anybody doing display mirroring via Apple TV?

    How's the lag, if any?
     
  2. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    I drive 2560X1440 all the time. At work I have an ACD, and at home I have a ATD. Both work fine with my MBA. I also have an HP 2560X1600 30" display... but I am not using it at the moment. I keep it in a secondary office that has been going unused. That monitor uses a mini-display port to dual-link DVI adapter as it only has the DL-DVI inputs.

    /Jim
     
  3. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #3
    One of our main developers here at work runs the Thunderbolt Display on his 2012 MBA. (Then again, he also compiles our software and tests it in OS X, when we don't officially support it on OS X when selling it to customers...)
     
  4. zephonic thread starter macrumors 65816

    zephonic

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    greater L.A. area
    #4
    That's good to know, thanks both.

    ATD, do you mean Apple TV? So no lag, even under heavy load?

    I'm actually looking at an Asus PB278Q. Nice display, not a lot of $$$.
     
  5. Ztormie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #5
    ATD = Apple Thunderbolt Display
    ACD = Apple Cinema Display
    :cool:
     
  6. w00tini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #6
    no lag. purrs like a kitten in both usage scenarios.... and with the new OS, you will be able to use the ATV to push another screen to an HDTV. Right now it's just mirroring.
     
  7. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #7
    Just curious, but I've heard that MBA's driving large screens can have constantly running fans, to cool the iGPU I assume. Have you run into this at all?
     
  8. w00tini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #8
    no... screen size has nothing to do with the fans in the MBA. what kicks the fans on is hammering the GPU/CPU regardless of whether you're using the MBA's screen or an external solution. a 2D situation like a cinema display running regular desktop software (web, music, ect) does not tax the system.
     
  9. micrors4racer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #9
    I have a 2012 MBA running dual TB displays and it does make the fan spin up. It is summer here so it might be the temperature too but if I disconnect the monitors it runs the fan lower. I do not recall if it did this when it was connected to only one but I will check.
     
  10. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    "ATD" = Apple Thunderbolt Display

    My fans do not typically run unless I doing that is pushing the CPU/GPU hard... which is almost never.

    /Jim
     

Share This Page