Anybody else in Canada that has an iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mxelre, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. mxelre macrumors member

    mxelre

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    Quebec
    #1
    Ok, I'm really a noob when it comes to cell phones so here are my questions. First of all, is it even possible to make an iPhone work in Canada(Quebec precisely). I know that you guys down south use AT&T for your iPhones, so I guess if I get AT&T here in Quebec it should work? Second, what is all that unlocking stuff about and can I do it on my own? That's pretty much it!
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    First of all, the only iPhone compatible provider in Canada is Rogers. So you would have to unlock the iPhone and just use a Rogers SIM. Beyond that information, I would say, beware of unlocking, just wait until Rogers picks up the iPhone or one of the other companies change technology, which Telus has been talking about.

    Regardless, the data rate in Canada SUCK, so be careful.

    TEG
     
  3. mxelre thread starter macrumors member

    mxelre

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    Quebec
    #3
    Thanks a lot for the information...then I guess I'll have to play the patience game!
     
  4. iphone.geek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #4
    iphone in canada

    i am using the iphone with rogers for about 10 months now with no problum what so ever.

    If you want something bad a enough you will get it.
     
  5. vanmacguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Not where you live.
    #5
    I recently sold my iPhone (sob), I had to because my new company requires that I carry a Blackberry and I didn't want to be one of 'those guys' that carries multiple devices on his belt.

    But I bought it unlocked in Vancouver, popped my Rogers SIM card in it and was as happy as a clam with it for months. It worked really well.

    As someone else said though, data plans in Canada are *really* expensive so I didn't have one for a while, but the last few months I had the iPhone I did have a data plan. I thought the iPhone was a remarkable device, but when I put my data plan on it, it *really* shone. It really is designed to have unlimited data and to have it running without a data plan is really like taking the engine out of a Ferrari and putting an engine from a lawnmower in.

    So my plan is to wait until Apple figures out how to make iPhone work with Microsoft Exchange and until they release it in Canada with reasonable data plan pricing.

    My two cents.

    But you can have an iPhone without a data plan and have it work very well in Canada. You'll just have to pay more for it. Check Craigslist for people selling them in your area.

    Cheers.
     
  6. s1k0 macrumors newbie

    s1k0

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    just recently bought my phone and i say with or wih out the data plan iphone is still#1. I dont have a data plan because its not something i need urgently besides the wifi is awesome it self. I don't know if fido & rogers are linked but i am on fido right now andits goin great!
     
  7. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Rogers owns Fido.
     
  8. mxelre thread starter macrumors member

    mxelre

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    Quebec
    #8
    What exactly are the data plans? Are they like sending messages?

    Btw I found a 8Gb iPhone near my place for 350$ with FW 1.1.2. How does that sound?
     
  9. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #9
    Yes Rogers owns Fido, but they still have quite different rate packages available. Unfortunately none of them have good data plans. I have an unlocked iPhone here in Canada and love it, I say its well worth the slight pain of driving over the border and picking one up. Good luck man
     
  10. akhentek macrumors member

    akhentek

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    elphinstone, canada
    #10
    it is still the best tech i have ever owned
    whether the data plan is enabled or not :)
     
  11. vanmacguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Not where you live.
    #11
    Sounds good. Get it.

    A data plan is a service that you need to subscribe to if you want to use some features of iPhone when you're out of range of Wi-Fi.

    For example, Google Maps, Stocks, Mail, Safari (Web browsing) and YouTube.

    If you want to be able to send and receive mail any time, you need a data plan. The one I had from Rogers was $60 a month which gave me 25Mb of data transfer a month. With careful usage, I kept under my 25Mb a month, but I had to be really careful. After you reach 25Mb, they don't tell you or shut it off, you just get billed $9 per Mb after that. This can add up *really* quickly. And the only place you can see your usage is on iPhone itself.

    To the other people that say it's great without a data plan, I 100% agree with you. It's a fantastic piece of technology and I am completely spoiled by having had one. All I'm saying is that as wonderful as you think it is now, wait until you can get unlimited data. Then you'll see iPhone's true colours. It's ultra-fantastic when you use it with unlimited data (which is how it was designed).

    But for $350, yep, get it. You definitely won't be sorry. Just watch your data usage if you spring for the plan.

    Cheers.
     
  12. mxelre thread starter macrumors member

    mxelre

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    Quebec
    #12
    Alright perfect! I contacted the seller! Thx a lot guys
     
  13. rje macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #13
    There are thousands of iPhones in use in Canada. They are used on Rogers and Fido. Telus is switching to GSM, so there's an upcoming third choice and Bell is going GSM soon after. As for data charges, I use mine with WiFi almost exclusively. Rogers now has a $7 unlimited data plan. The iPhone is a good fit in Canada, and you don't need the ridiculous nonsense of a binding AT&T lockup to use it.
     
  14. mxelre thread starter macrumors member

    mxelre

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    Quebec
    #14
    Alright I sent email to the seller on craiglist but he never responded....so if anybody has an iphone to sell...plz tell me!! What is this 7$ unlimited plan at Rogers?
     
  15. rje macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #15
    iPhones are easy to get in any big city. Call Rogers and they'll tell you about their $7 plan. Its all very easy.
     
  16. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #16
    i just bought one, and it should be shipped to me very soon, and after reading this thread i really really can t wait to get it i'm not gon lie i plan on doing the unlocking myself and i am kind of intimidated by it, even though ppl here say it s very easy
     
  17. rje macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #17
    I can help you jailbreak and unlock it. Especially easy if you're a Mac user.
     
  18. naftalim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #18
    Got one today in Vancovuer, 8GB 1.14 firmware and lots of games. Love it so far. So intuitive. Not using a data plan, just wi-fi.
     
  19. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #19
    lol i am a mac user and when I'll be getting it next week, i ll be holding on to what you just said thou lol about helping me...thx :)
     
  20. rje macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #20
    Well LOL seems to be a big part of your vocabulary, but regardless of LOL, I'll help you if you need it.

    LOL...
     
  21. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #21
    ahha what can i say I'm a happy dude...
     
  22. Planet Telex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #22
    The $7 Rogers plan can not be used on an iPhone.
     
  23. atomicparker macrumors member

    atomicparker

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #23
    This is true, it most certainly can't be used. It can't even be used on blackberries and Treo's in canada for normal internet, only rogers designated online stuff, like their store, the rogers facebook/myspace/ and other crap that has their brand. If you use edge for anything else it's still 5 cents a kb. The best deal they give right now is the $60 for 1gb a month :S
     
  24. billabong macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #24
    I'm getting so sick and tired of waiting for rogers to get there act together and lower data rates so that iPhone can finally come up here. I'm very tempted to just go and buy an unlocked one... It seems like every month it's another disappointment. We hear so many rumors but non of them come true... I'm willing to hold out until iPhone 2.0 comes out.. I've waiting this long so far, what is a few more months.
     
  25. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #25
    i was doing the same, until a good deal came up so i grabbed it, now im waiting for my iPhone to be shipped, I'll just unlock it and I'll only use wi-fi until rogers lowers its plans...
     

Share This Page