Anybody got 3GB RAM in their MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mr. MacBook, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. Mr. MacBook macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #1
    According to OWC, MacBooks can adress 3GB of RAM, but apple wont customize it because unbalanced RAM=poor GPU and no dual-channel performance.

    Anybody actually HAVE 3GB in MacBook?
     
  2. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #2
    that's interesting because Apple's website doesn't even mention a 3GB option. even if they don't recommend it, i'd think they'd at least show it as an option. i wonder if OWC has their facts straight.
     
  3. joekix macrumors 6502

    joekix

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    earth, long beach CA to be exact
  4. tecktronika macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #4
    actually the mbp c2d and the mb c2d
     
  5. Mr. MacBook thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #5
    Apple doesen't offer this option because they tell you the MacBook is bad without dual-channel.

    Bs.
     
  6. gothiquegirrl macrumors regular

    gothiquegirrl

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  7. wkw macrumors 6502

    wkw

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    #7
    yes the c2d macbooks can use it. people who get it generally notice an improvement in performance. apparently the performance hit by not running a matched set is more than offset by performance increase from running extra gig of memory. I am too lazy to search but there are a few threads about this topic.
     
  8. tekmate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    #8

    I'm surprised because I know on my PC the opposite is true the system performs better with dual channel rather than more RAM. I am a moderate user in that I usually have about 5 to 15 programs open at a time and I do some 3D stuff as a hobby. I can't say on the Mac as I am still running a G4 so the newer systems may make a difference.
     
  9. pip11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #10
    Something that isn't widely known about the Intel 'Books is that the Intel RAM controller is actually able to run in dual-channel mode without needing matched pairs. This Intel whitepaper describes how it works--basically, it can run in dual-channel up to the smaller of the two sticks. Thus, if you were had a 2GB and a 1GB stick, the first 1GB of memory would be accessed at dual-channel speed.

    Just as a side note, while documents like that whitepaper show that the MacBooks should be operating like this, we really don't know. Extensive testing would really be the only way to find out.
     

Share This Page