Anybody got an Alum iMac icon with *Leopard* desktop?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by RumMunkey, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. RumMunkey macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey, I'm trying to find a replacement desktop icon for my Aluminum iMac.

    I have no problem finding some very decent icons of the iMac, but they all have the blue Tiger wallpaper.

    I was hoping to find something with the Leopard "Cosmos" wallpaper.

    Anybody got one they'd like to share?
     
  2. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #2
    likewise a white macbook icon would be great too! :)
     
  3. stellarceltic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #3
    Which is the "Cosmos" wallpaper? The default black/purple?
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    Taken right from the Leopard OS itself:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    That iMac icon is in Leopard itself? How do I extract it so I can use it as a normal .icns file?
     
  6. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #6
    Go into System\Library\CoreServices\CoreTypes.bundle (show contents)

    and you'll see a lot of 512/512 icons and if you open one you'll see (in preview) all the size icons then just nab the one you want.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. stellarceltic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #7
    Here you go guys. I couldn't find a program to convert PNG to ICNS. Let me know if you find a good one.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. MSD401 macrumors 6502

    MSD401

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Ogden, UT
    #8
    any chance of a MBP icon ...
     
  9. stellarceltic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #9
    Sure boss. Default Leopard wallpaper?
     
  10. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #10
    Photoshop has a plugin you can download out there...
     
  11. stellarceltic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #11
    If you could find it... I would be eternally grateful...
     
  12. stellarceltic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #12
    Here's the default wallpaper...
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #13
    White iMac please, COre2Duo with iSight 20inch

    THanks
     
  14. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #14
    There was a link on this page... But the website is messed up right now...

    http://www.telegraphics.com.au/sw/
     
  15. stellarceltic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #15
    Here you go
     

    Attached Files:

  16. mmendoza27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #16
    I did this on my old Tiger MacBook Pro... but I'm wondering, when you replace the original HD icon, where does that reside? For instance, if I were to replace the HD icon right now, what if I wanted to put it back to normal?
     
  17. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #17
    Cool, thanks. I'm surprised they didn't use the new Leopard wallpaper by default, though.
     
  18. erkanasu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
  19. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #19
    Any chance to get higher quality versions? thanks a lot btw
     
  20. stewacide macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    #20
    strange that the new 'desktop' icon (as seen in the Finder sidebar, although very tiny there) does show the Aurora background (and also the new-style Dock)
     
  21. stellarceltic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #21
    The program I've been using to convert the ICNS to PNG seems to max out at 128x128. If you can either find the high quality PNG or a better program, I can help you out.
     
  22. RumMunkey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    Thank you SO MUCH! These are great for starters. When the iMac gets here and I have some time I'll see what I can do about extracting the 500 pixel icon and changing the wallpaper to the new default.

    In the meantime here's a great little app to convert PNGs to ICNS: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/9477/iconverter
     
  23. 23am macrumors regular

    23am

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #23
    I think it's really cool that each computer model has an own icon. :):)
     
  24. cornerdealy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    #24
    maybe I'm stupid, but how do you apply these icons? I try the get info way, but it just shows the .icns file
     
  25. RumMunkey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #25

    Right-click on your "Macintosh HD" (or whatever you've renamed it) and take "Get Info". Leave this wondow open and we'll come back to it in a sec.

    Do the right-click / get info thing on your "whatever.icns" file as well.

    On the "Get Info" window of the icon you want to set as the new one click the little preview immediately to the left of the file name. Click it just once and look closely for the blue halo that surrounds it. It might be hard to see.

    Here's a pic to help:
    [​IMG]

    So, you're clicking that little preview-icon where my cursor is, right? OK...

    When it's selected, cmd+c. This copies the icon to your clipboard.

    Now, back in the Get Info window for the Mac HD, click once to highlight (blue halo looking thing) the icon in the same place.

    Now cmd+v. It will paste the icon you copied.

    Close both windows. You now have a single custom icon.




    There are apps, btw to replace ALL icons, but me I just want the HD icon to look like, you know... the computer it's on. ;)
     

Share This Page