HomeKit anybody having issues with automation in homekit?

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by x-evil-x, Dec 6, 2018.

  1. x-evil-x macrumors 68040

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #1
    Im not sure why my automation for turning off the lights doesn't work anymore. Also turning them on when I come home.
    Any ideas? I've tried restarting my phone and appletv as a hub but still have the issue.
     
  2. Bazooka-joe macrumors 68020

    Bazooka-joe

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Swindon, England
    #2
    Yes all my hue lights are not responding to Siri since the homepod and apple tv updates yesterday. Alexa as always is working perfectly
     
  3. GDF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    Having issues with Hue lights on Homekit and Hue app. Can't figure it out. Sometimes will turn on and sometimes they don't. Always seemed to work perfectly, except the last couple weeks.
     
  4. MistrSynistr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #4
    I did at first, I didn't realize you do "A Time of Day Occurs" vs "An Accessory is Controlled" for Smart Bulbs.
     
  5. GDF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #5
    My Hue lights all had an update today, so maybe that will fix the issues?
     
  6. Bazooka-joe macrumors 68020

    Bazooka-joe

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Swindon, England
    #6
    If I going to HomeKit every bulb shows as not responding. Changing the channel helps but only for 24 hours. I have reset absolutely everything including the hub and it still doing it and it’s only been happening since the latest Hue update a few days ago
     
  7. x-evil-x thread starter macrumors 68040

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #7
    I don’t have problems at home with homekit it’s the automation when I leave or come home. None of those scenes works based on location.
     
  8. sdarren7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Monday
    #8
    I had homekit for around 2years since ios10, it work ard 90% of the time(automations).
    however after updating to 11.4.1, it broke the whole thing. non of my automation works. i always get no response when away from home.

    I try to reset, delete and start from scratch, and i cant find a solution.

    After updating IOS 12, it works 99.99% of the time.
    i have over 10+ hues light, 9hues motion sensor, eve switch, 2 august smart lock pro.
    with over 50+ automations created.

    as of now i am super happy that it works 99.9% of the time. automation create scene when i home, off the scene after 20mins, wake up, go to slp scene. motion sensor triggered and off after X mins.

    I am on Ios 12.1.1, apple TV 4k as main hub, ipad pro 1st gen as standby hub.

    if you guys have issues, turn off your main icloud devices, restart the apple tv. and on back your idevices.

    it works for me.

    Hope you guys have your homekit issue solved asap. cheers :)

    below is my automation and homekit.





    first.PNG IMG_2021.PNG IMG_2022.PNG IMG_2023.PNG IMG_2024.PNG IMG_2025.PNG IMG_2026.PNG IMG_2027.PNG IMG_2028.PNG IMG_2029.PNG
     
  9. x-evil-x thread starter macrumors 68040

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #9
    What thermostat do you have?

    I think I figured it out. I’ve had a few different phones in the last few months it was on the location of another phone I no longer have. Going to test it out tonight I deleted all my other devices no longer on my account.
    I have two appletv’s acting as hubs also and an iPad. Just the phones location it didnt see is what I’m assuming
     
  10. sdarren7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Monday
    #10

    I dint have any standalone thermoset. I use the hue motion sensor which come with limited thermoset function.



    I just remember the only issue I have now is, if I set my hue sensor notification to ON and notify me if motion is being triggered when nobody is at home.(so if someone break in the house while no one is at home,it will "act as a security feature").

    I keep getting notification even when there is people at home when the sensor is being triggered.(even though i set to only notify me when no ppl is at home)

    anyone have any idea how to solve this issue?
     
  11. x-evil-x thread starter macrumors 68040

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #11
    the motion sensor gives air temp readings?
     
  12. sdarren7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Monday
    #12
    Yes. And brightness reading in lux
     
  13. Feenician macrumors 601

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #13
    You probably already checked this but I got caught out recently with it, so I'll mention it. Check Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services -> Share my Location and make sure that "From" says "This Device". Somehow I had a whole bunch of other entries in there and the wrong one was selected (I have no recollection of making that change and this had been working for about 2 years)
     
  14. x-evil-x thread starter macrumors 68040

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #14
    I got it to work my settings had another phone being used as the location. I deleted all the other devices in the list and selected my current phone and its back to working.
     
  15. Feenician macrumors 601

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #15
    Excellent. That caught me out too.
     

Share This Page