Anybody here using a Slingbox w/ their iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jerry1, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. jerry1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #1
    I just found out about the product and don't know much other than it is supposed to hook up to your cable/sattelite box and stream programing over the internet so you have full capabilities to watch your home programing on your computer, phone, etc...

    The link is.... http://www.slingmedia.com/

    Anybody using it? If so, any info about how well it works, downsides, etc... would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. psymac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #2
    I have the Slingbox Av, works great on my Macs and PCs, great investment. I wouldn't use it on anything slower than a Dual G4 1ghz or a single G4 with upgraded graphics. Also, viewing over the internet or wireless at home can be tricky setting up the router, but customer service is great and will walk you through the steps. Highly recommended, enjoy.
     
  3. md1207 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    I have the slingbox AV also and it worked fine with my old Imac and macbook using Tiger but I am having a little trouble getting it to work on my new 2.8 Extreme with leopard. I down loaded the new player but it says it supports up to OSX 10.4X. I haven't researched the problem yet and I jus got the imac 2 days ago. Otherwise I like the product. You need a good internet connection to view remotely, but you can adjust the picture qualityto compensate. It works just like it says.
     
  4. seattle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #4
    I have several slingboxes and they work great. I use the player on my iMac G4 1.0 and my new iMac C2D 2.4. The player does not run on eMac 700.
     
  5. jerry1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #5
    Let me know how it goes. As you can see from my sig, my setup is similar to yours!
     
  6. jerry1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #6
    Thanks for the input guys. I'm trying to figure out my choices for using my iMac as a TV. I know of the Elgato unit but I would be limited to off air signals because I have DirecTV.

    I now think this might be a good alternative too. I don't have a router yet and I'm heavily considering Time Capsule one it's finally available. I will likely wait to see how compatible this slingbox solution is w/ that, if at all.

    I did see that I would likely have to up my internet service speed but that's about due anyway.

    If anybody is using this w/ Leopard, please chime in!

    Thanks
     
  7. kurzz macrumors 6502

    kurzz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I got the slingbox (cable/coax version) specifically so I can watch TV in a small window while I work. With 24" screen, I still have plenty of room to work with. I place it in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen.
     
  8. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Yup!

    I have a slingbox. I use it mostly to watch shows when i'm traveling, but sometimes I watch it on my iMac at home. Picture is not bad. If you're planning on using it on your home network, get one of the slingboxes that can handle HD. If you're going to sling remotely, no point since you won't have enough bandwidth anyways. Enjoy!!!
     
  9. hydrokayak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Lancaster, NH
    #9
    I just ordered mine last night. I'm at college, and just 'simplified' my dorm room. I have a cable box here, as it came with my cable modem for an extra 15 bucks... I figured I'd get it. I got rid of my TV last week, and I'm only here for 3 nights oout of the week, and two of those are big homework nights.

    I was having trouble choosing between the cable tuner itself, which can't receive QAM, or the Slingbox SOLO. The SOLO looked towards the future for me, and I'd be able to get HD content off of the box. None of the TV tuners seemed to offer HD cable that I could get out of the box. I get about 25 HD channels, so it really was a big deal for me.
     
  10. md1207 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #10
    Slingbox

    Update, I finally got the slingbox to work on my imac 2.8 and it's running well now. I think the problem was that the menus are different in 10.5.2 and I couldn't find the the right menu to connect with my LAN. I Found it after a little experimentation. I Highly recommend it for TV on the imac.
     

Share This Page