Anybody knows what causing this ??

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Ian.C, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. Ian.C macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    #1
    Hi

    Just wondering if anyone has had this fault before on an iPhone 5.

    The screen works perfectly but has a line of white boxes along the centre, see picture attached.

    Any thoughts please let me know. It's out of warranty. And to change it at my local apple store will cost £209

    Thanks in advance

    Z[​IMG]

    Z
     
  2. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Has not happens to me but tell me if this works. Hold down the home button and the sleep button until you see the apple logo.
     
  3. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #3
    Is the phone Jailbroken by any chance?
     
  4. Ian.C thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    #4
    Thanks guys

    I will give it a try, no it's not jailbroken, not really interested in that to be honest

    Any more ideas

    Thanks a lot

    Ian
     
  5. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Did that thing I said work?
     
  6. Ian.C thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    #6
    Hi

    Will try it when I finish my shift at work. On nights at the moment.

    Using my spare iPhone 4

    Will let you know

    Thanks a lot

    Ian
     
  7. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    we saw this before when the iphone 5 first came out, pictures were posted in that thread too. it was unknown what caused it but it was determined i think that it was a hardware malfunction. i doubt anything you do will fix it, except maybe a new screen. i would bring it to apple and see if they will replace it.

    EDIT: here is the link, its hardware.....have apple look at it

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1469388
     

Share This Page