Anybody running FCE regularly on a Macbook???

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jayeskreezy, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. jayeskreezy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #1
    I'm considering picking up a macbook and I wanted to know if there was anybody on here who regularly runs FCE on a macbook for heavy duty projects?

    I have a 2.2ghz 2gb macbook pro, but I'm considering downgrading to a macbook b/c of 2gb and 2.4ghz processor. Any reviews/suggestions?

    I'd love to hear from people with a macbook and see how it works. Can I get honest feedback too?
     
  2. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #2
    I am going to be. They have great deals now at the University where I work on last gen Macbooks. I am going to pick one up tonight.

    Now, that being said, I run FCE4 currently on a rev A iMac G5 with no issue at all. And I have done several significant projects are over an hour in length and have several cameras.

    So, I think FCE will run great on a Macbook, but I don't think you will see a huge performance improvement over your MBP. It probably barley be noticeable, if at all.

    And I hope you don't need firewire to capture your footage....
     
  3. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #3
    I was running FCE (version 1, granted) on my 12" 1 GHz G4 PowerBook with 512 MB RAM, and it worked fine. No real-time rendering on a machine that old, but it worked. I imagine any MacBook would be able to run FCE decently.

    Of course, with no Firewire on the newest version... :rolleyes:
     
  4. jayeskreezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #4
    I'm sorry I meant to add that I'm looking at getting a Blackbook with 2.4ghz and 2gb ram. Is that a significant increase over the macbook pro?
     
  5. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    I cut a full XDCAM HD news package in FCP on a 2.2Ghz MacBook w/ 4GB RAM off the internal drive a few weeks ago. No problems at all. I've also cut several 30-minute talk shows in HDV without problems.
     
  6. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #6
    I don't think you will see much of a performance improvement.

    If I were you, I'd stick with the MBP, unless this is a financial decision.
     
  7. jayeskreezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #7
    Oh ok koo. It would be a financial decision, but not really b/c after repurchasing applecare for the macbook it'd come out to about what i get for the mbp.

    Mostly I just wanted it for the processor speed jump and the larger hard drive. I'm going to pick up a hard drive on ebay though to increase to 250gb. I've really outgrown the 120gb drive and it's making me limited.
     
  8. jayeskreezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #8

    Well, it looks like we have run into some financial issues and I need to depart with my mbp, BUT I am looking into getting a 2.2ghz black macbook c2d. Any more opinions on how well this can handle final cut express?
     
  9. marlin13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #9
    personally speaking I would stick with th MBP just for screen real estate alone, the smaller screen is a pain imho.

    I currently own rather a lot of macs including an old 15" G4 powerbook and a newer 2ghz black macbook. The difference those 2 inches of screen size makes is I feel significant in affecting the speed of your workflow.

    If ultimate portability is required I have no doubt the macbook will do the job

    Sorry can't give specifics on FCE as I use either iMovie or FC
     
  10. Artofilm macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #10
    I use FCP Studio on my Macbook right now.
    It runs pretty good especially considering the size. The only drawback is the screen size, which is a little small for video editing.

    Otherwise, it will handle smaller projects no problem!
     

Share This Page