Anybody with an iPod Classic?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by boateng, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. boateng macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    #1
    I find the volume loud enough

    I have a 160gb silver iPod classic and even when i increase my music's volume on iTunes by going to 'get info and then increasing the volume to 100%' i find that its still not loud enough... My songs are mostly bought from the iTunes store btw

    is there a restriction or something?
     
  2. venom600 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    What kind of headphones are you using? Some higher quality headphones have really high impedance, which can lead to low volume. You may want to invest in a portable headphone amplifier if that is the case.
     
  3. boateng thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    #3
    i have sennheiser cx 300 ii....

    is there something wrong with my iPod classic?
     
  4. Rawkfist macrumors regular

    Rawkfist

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Was your Classic purchased in the United States? Wherever, the problem is not likely in iTunes. On the iPod go to settings then to volume limit and make sure it's maxed out.
     
  5. boateng thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    #5
    my iPod was purchased in europe?

    and i have done that...
    its not that loud
     
  6. Rawkfist macrumors regular

    Rawkfist

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    iPods sold in the EU have a lower maximum allowed volume. I do not know of a hack to get around that. As a previous post said, you might have to use an amplifier.
     
  7. boateng thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    #7
    ahhhh just spent £170 on that....the volume isn't that loud
    what am i gonna do:(
     
  8. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #8
    Buy a DA. Check out the FiiO E17, Fireye DA, or Firestone Audio Fireye Mini.
     
  9. venom600 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
  10. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    If you don't want to spend any more money on hardware, a free solution would be to add extra volume to your tracks.

    http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/

    However I made sure I got a US Classic so I could damage my ears without extra hardware or tinkering around with my tracks.
     
  11. Tulani macrumors 6502a

    Tulani

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #11
    i have the classic.
    yes its no as loud as you get with the newer ipods&/iphones.
    i have at best tinkered with the equalizer to get some oomph
     
  12. Oldmanmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #12
    Have you head the same music on a different device?

    My thought is maybe the music wasn't recorded louder.
     
  13. AT101ET macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    UK (London)
    #13
    If you want it to be loud, use a speaker :eek:
    Seriously though, doesn't quality come over loudness?
     
  14. praterkeith macrumors 6502

    praterkeith

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
  15. Tulani macrumors 6502a

    Tulani

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #15

    Can you compare it to the iPhones output?
     
  16. praterkeith macrumors 6502

    praterkeith

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #16
    I would say it is slightly less than the iPhone, but I'd think every device would have their differences. I've never used my iPod classic and thought the volume wasn't loud enough.
     
  17. puma1552 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #17
    Return it and try and get one from the US since US models don't have the same EU model volume limit.
     

Share This Page