Anybody with an SE ever dealt with a dim screen?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by alitek12, Apr 23, 2017.

  1. alitek12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    #1
    Anybody dealt with such an issue before? I didn't think it was anything serious until I compared a display model to mine at full brigtness. Also, this is a replacement from Apple because my previous unit had dust under the screen
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Givmeabrek, Apr 25, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017

    Givmeabrek macrumors 68040

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    That's full brightness?? Looks terrible. Swipe up and show the control center and take a pic showing brightness settings.

    Time for another replacement? :(
     
  3. Zaft macrumors 68040

    Zaft

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #3
    Do you have auto brightness on?
     
  4. myrtlebee macrumors 68020

    myrtlebee

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore-Washington Metro Area
    #4
    Why do people ask for things like this? Do you think the OP is lying or is an idiot? How hard is it to turn the brightness all the way up - don't you think he knows how to do this?
     
  5. Givmeabrek macrumors 68040

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    You missed the point entirely. It's not to insult the OP, but it's to show everyone how to check the settings so that no one makes a simple settings mistake.
     
  6. G.McGilli, Apr 25, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017

    G.McGilli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    #6
    Considering the Black phone is in power saving mode - no surprise the screen has been dimmed by the OS.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 25, 2017 ---
    Calm down. It's a help forum. People come here for help and to learn new things. What better way for someone who doesn't know about auto-brightness than to ask a question like this on this forum.

    Did you see the Ops phone? The icon layout is practically identical to the in store demo model - meaning either the Op has never felt the need to ever erase of move any icons for personal use - or is a newer user to iPhone and very well might not know how to swipe to check brightness and its auto settings.

    As as I mentioned above the power saving feature would have probably dimmed the screen in this case with the battery at 5%.

    If you have something constructive to help the Op, then let's hear it. Otherwise getting angry at those trying to help is just a waste of everyone's time. Yes, even yours.
     
  7. myrtlebee macrumors 68020

    myrtlebee

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore-Washington Metro Area
    #7
    That's not the way it came across to me.
     
  8. alitek12, Apr 25, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017

    alitek12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    #8
    I only received that unit recently from the store last week and clean restored it when I went to the store so they don't right away think its in relation to the backup I may have used, I just have been using my iPhone 5 since the brightness of the SE is not sufficient, so I went to the Apple Store to discuss it, but since I didn't make an appointment, I didn't have much of a choice but to just compare it to a display unit. Also, the phone was not in Low Power mode although the battery was low(can be seen in the picture) and I did double check the brightness and it was full with Auto Brightness off. Unless, this is some sort of software feature.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 25, 2017 ---
    Yeah, the replacements starting with N seem to have appalling quality, the last one had sufficient brightness but had a piece of dust under screen.
     

Share This Page