Anyone a psychologist?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Cormier6083, Nov 10, 2007.

1. Cormier6083 macrumors regular

Cormier6083

:D I have this strange... thing. Whenever I listen to the song "Helena", I have these very strong images in my head of... OS X. I know, it's odd, but I swear it's true. Anyone have an idea what it might mean? Or am I just stupid or something.

2. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

I'm not a doctor, but I play one on TV... :p

Seriously, auditory links are second only to olfactory in their ability to connect to the "old brain." It's the ancient survival relationships we needed in order to spread our seed, and although they may not be necessary in the modern world, they sure can be handy (ever smell smoke in the house? Immediate reaction, right?) How a particular association may be formed is not always obvious, but once it's there, it's got a good chance of remaining there for life.

3. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

Stampyhead

4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

...And how does that make you feel?

I've got a degree for it but don't practice. It's quite bizarre some of the associations we can make sometimes. Rammstein and the original Command & Conquer go hand in hand for me.

5. xsedrinam macrumors 601

xsedrinam

If listening to "Helena" triggers images of OS X, and you don't yet own 10.5, isn't it fairly obvious? Leopard's calling on you to give it a Troy.

<ba-dum, ching> :D

6. corywoolf macrumors 65816

corywoolf

What's the difference between psychiatrists and psychologists exactly? Isn't the first one the people that just listen to you complain about how much your life sucks? :rolleyes::D

7. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

Key difference educationally speaking is that a psychiatrist is an M.D.

8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew