Anyone bought a Kingston DDR2 1 GB PC-2 6400 RAM for Mac book Pro ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alebar14, Aug 25, 2007.

  1. alebar14 macrumors regular

    alebar14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland CBD, New Zealand
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I am planning to buy and replace the existing 2 GB RAM (667 Mhz front bus) that Macbook Pro SR 2.2 Ghz with a new Kingston KVR800D2S5/1G (800 Mhz front bus) which I've found from :

    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...00D2S5/1G&id=1

    What's the catch ? Why Apple still keep producing their 667 Mhz front bus RAM on every newest Macbook Pro SR ? Is it worth to buy ?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    OK, Let's do this again, for the 22nd time.
    Welcome to MR, alebar

    The first MR lesson is: Your question has probably been asked and answered before.

    We have a Guide for Intel Mac RAM, and a quick Search of the forums will usually come up with the answer in less time than it takes to open a new thread.

    In short: 800 MHz RAM gives you no benefit whatsoever in anyh intel Mac to date, because the memory controller is hardwired to 667 MHz. You cannot change that.

    Also, my personal recommendation is to avoid Kingston ValueRAM (KVR- series) memory for use in Macs, and stick with their guaranteed Apple- compatible line (KTA- series). Or choose a reputable seller who guarantees compatibility with your machine, gives a lifetime warranty, and offers a no-cost return or replacement if it doesn't work.
     
  3. alebar14 thread starter macrumors regular

    alebar14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland CBD, New Zealand
    #4
    Ooooo.

    So what's the advantage having a 800 Mhz front bus Mac Book Pro SR 2.2 Ghz compared to a 667 Mhz front bus Macbook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16 Ghz ?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    The Santa Rosa platform is faster on the other stuff the FSB does. It is the same speed on the memory bus.
     
  5. alebar14 thread starter macrumors regular

    alebar14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland CBD, New Zealand
    #6
    Ok. Thanks for that ! So I'd probably gonna save up some cash to buy a 4 GB RAM in a near future.
     

Share This Page