Anyone confirmed that you can switch between GSM & CDMA carriers with a1586?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by comics addict, May 13, 2015.

  1. comics addict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #1
    I just got myself a unlocked iPhone 6 model A1586 which apple advertises that could be used on both GSM and CDMA carriers like AT&T or Verizon as simple as changing the sim card on the phone. I currently use T-Mobile as my carrier of choice but I'm always open to switching. I sadly don't have anyone with either a Verizon or Sprint ( CDMA carriers are for me the big question...) sim card to try it out so I'm hoping someone here can say for certain that this would work. Thanks guys
     
  2. C DM, May 16, 2015
    Last edited: May 16, 2015

    C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Based on Apple's information and various posts in different threads, assuming that the phone is unlocked from the beginning, that model is the one that Apple sells as the unlocked model that can work on essentially any US carrier (as well as many international ones).
     
  3. hughiee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #3
    This A1586 unlocked model should also work on international carriers as well.
     
  4. comics addict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #4
    I am using it currently with T-Mobile as my carrier and I bought it from a reseller that advertised it as factory unlocked which I guess would confirm for me that is is unlocked. My intrigue, however, is mainly about the possibility of switching between CDMA and GSM carrier which would be a first for an iPhone. Any can confirm that you can indeed get service and all associated services on carriers like verizon and sprint?
     
  5. zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
    #5
    I bought a 6+ A1524 from the  Store, which uses the same bands as the 6 A1586, and I'm now using it with my Verizon service and my T-Mobile work sim card. So yes, it'll work with Verizon.

    Sprint, not sure.
     
  6. comics addict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #6
    Perfect! And do you only pop out the sim card to switch the service at will?
     
  7. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #7
    Hi, can you just check if the IMEI is recognized on the following webpage?
    http://www.verizonwireless.com/activatedevice

    Thanks!
     
  8. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #8
    There shouldn't be a problem, you'll just have to get a corresponding SIM card. IDK about Sprint, but I know Verizon has been weaning off of CDMA technology for the last couple years. Nowadays, I can take the SIM from my 6 Plus, pop it into my father's 5s and vice-versa and it all activates with no problem. Even the CDMA part. Makes it really nice when I need to test SIM cards and network problems.

    Now, these are all Verizon-bought devices (still factory unlocked though) but according to Apple your phone should already be registered with Verizon so just popping in a SIM from them should get you up and running.
     
  9. comics addict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #9
    I did and according to Verizon's website it says that indeed it's compatible with their network. Tried doing the same thing with my 5s and 5 which were acquired from T-Mobile and unlocked by them and it said for both devices that it's not compatible with their network. I guess this is as ringing endorsement has it comes short of having a sim card on hand from any other carrier to try. :cool:

    So your 5s was purchased through Verizon? That is why your able to get any service with them because Apple unlocked 5s & 5c are only able to be using in the US with GSM networks like AT&T and T-Mobile making the 6 & 6 Plus the first iphones offered unlocked that are fully interchangeable between carriers domestically and globally as well. It's a great development for us users.
     
  10. Wolverine311 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    #10
    I am currently using one bought from Apple Store on sprint. The only hiccup was the store rep had to set it up as a bring your own sprint device even though it's not a sprint but legitimately unlocked "world" phone. Otherwise it works great lte I just don't have spark anywhere but the band for it is supposed to be supported as well.
     
  11. comics addict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #11
    Was it locked to sprint in anyway? I am to believe that is not possible but one never can be too sure with these carriers... Also, how was the process for them to activate your iphone on their network? Also what is spark that you refer to? Sorry for all the questions but I am really curious about how one would use an unlocked device with a CDMA carrier which have never been possible before. #
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    The unlocked version of the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus sold by Apple are in the databases of CDMA carriers (or at least supposed to be) so that when you put a SIM card from one of those carriers it will work just as if you put a SIM card from one of the GSM carriers.
     
  13. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #13
    You answered your own question in the first post.
     
  14. Wolverine311 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    #14
    No, not locked to sprint but white listed ok'd to work on sprint, or Verizon or T-Mobile or att or all the mvnos. The process to activate was simple as I stated earlier the phone had to be entered in the database as a sprint device although technically it's not I dished out the 900 to apple for unlocked version. Spark is just the newer faster lte signal sprint is very slowly building up (lte band 41 is what to look for for a phone to handle it). Depending on congestion/traffic/time of day in my area speeds are 5-15mbs but nice low pings. Supposedly spark can give who knows 20-100+ . It doesn't matter to me much I'm not torrenting or some sort of app developer or content editor. I just like not worrying about data usage I call my plan the unlimited don't worry as long I don't travel often plan.
     
  15. comics addict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #15
    No I didn't. I specially am asking other members to post their experience in getting their unlocked iphone 6 to get service from Verizon or sprint and how smooth it has been. Just because Apple alludes to in their store doesn't mean jack to these carriers who have spent the better part of their existence having a tight control over which devices can operate on their networks. The issue rubbed me the wrong way when I purchased my first iphone which was a 4s which was the exact same device on all carriers and because of they're draconian policies couldn't be switched between carriers to get service. The only reason this has been changing in the last year is because the FCC, congress and the president have all called them on it and they don't seem interested in putting much of a lost fight when public opinion is so critical of their previous policies.


    So spark is simply what Verizon is calling XLTE by what your explaining to me. I believe that is simply due to the carriers assigning more bandwidth to they're existing LTE networks although some other member who is more knowledgable can correct me on that.
     
  16. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    To be fair, there are rather extensive deals in place between Apple and carriers, and if the carriers (consistently/systematically) don't honor something that's part of the deal that would be a fairly big thing.
     
  17. comics addict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #17
    Of which we are not privy of but the essence of what you say is true. But like we all can attest to is that the carriers won't make it easier for us to find out wether something like this works. The fact that an iphone, heck any phone, can be purchased unlocked and ready to used on any U.S. Carrier of your choosing is a huge step in this regard but sorry if I'm still skeptical after having been burned enough times by the carriers with interdevice operability on a device like a 4s which didn't had any technical reason as to why it couldn't be used on any network that sold it's own 'flavor'.
     
  18. Wolverine311 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    #18
    I understand being skeptical about it. Like you said, older models had the specifications or capabilities but for whatever reason was just plain domestically locked to a specific brand. I will say I assure you it is different with the iPhone 6 and 6 plus models that were released months after the initial ones. When I purchased mine it was the first iPhone from the apple store in which there was no sim card included and they did not make any sales pitches asking me which carrier I belong to in an attempt to setup anything. I initially put my wife's verizon sim in and it automatically configured everything sms iMessage lte visual voice mail no setup no verizon store etc. Later popped it out took it to sprint who I still have service with. Never tried with gsm networks but I assume it will work as we've had success doing tmobile and att go phone and cricket with our older verizon branded 5s in the past.
     
  19. comics addict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #19
    Thanks a lot for your input although I hope you didn't think that post was directed at you. I'm simply clarifying my skepticism to other members which I now agree might come off as vague in my initial post. Sorry about that y'all. #
     

Share This Page