Anyone connecting there MBP to 30 inch displays

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JSmoove05, Jun 8, 2007.

  1. JSmoove05 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #1
    Just got my new MBP 15' 2.4 it seems pretty fast and nice but not much differnce so far from the MBP 15' my sister has that she bought in may 06 but im still learning my way around the Mac. What resolution do you put the MBP at when using a 30 inch lcd. I had it on the Native resolution of the MBP and it was all screwy and way too big on the 30 lcd what settings do you guys use with these screens so they full up the entire screen any help would be great thanks.
     
  2. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    display prefs> turn mirroring off

    will give you full 2560 x 1600

    or connect in clamshell
     
  3. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #3
    You should use native resolutions on both Macbook Pro and ACD.

    Are you running mirrored mode or extended desktop? If you do mirrored, you are stuck with the smallest native resolution, in this case Macbook Pro's resolution, however if you are doing extended desktop, you can use native resolutions on the respective LCD.
     
  4. JSmoove05 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
  5. JSmoove05 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #5
    Yes since this is my 1st time dealin with my own mac computer I didnt know I had to turn off the mirroring option thanks for the help.
     
  6. JSmoove05 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #6
    I went to the mac book pro display settings and couldnt find the turn off mirroring or anything like that?
     
  7. NorCalLights macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #7
    Press the F7 key on your MBP keyboard with the 30" display attached. That will cycle between mirrored and extended displays.
     
  8. JSmoove05 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #8
    Ok that worked with the F7 it looks freaking sweet on the 30in display now I have another question when i close the notebook it turns off the feed on the screen is that how it works or I can use it with the book closed anyone know thanks
     
  9. TilJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #9
    You should be able to use it closed if you have an external display, keyboard and mouse attached.
     
  10. TilJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
  11. Attonine macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    Kent. UK
    #11
    I have this setup, just with a 17" MBP. To operate in clamshell, you just need a keyboard and/or a mouse attached. When you first close the MBP the external will close too, just hit the keyboard or click the mouse and it will fire up again....if you've got it set up right. Then you are all set to use just like a normal desktop. Be sure to open the MBP and "detect displays" before you disconnect the external. Sometimes I have found that if I don't do this the MBP will shut down after disconnection from the external.
     

Share This Page