Anyone cut their SIM card yet?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by troop231, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. troop231 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #1
    Hope someone posts saying their iPhone sim works in the 3G iPad.
     
  2. aluren macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #2
    How would they use their iPhone if they cut the sim?
     
  3. troop231 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #3
    By DIY'ing an adapter of course (tape perhaps?). Someone seriously needs to do it.
     
  4. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #4
  5. troop231 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #5
    DIY would take about 2 mins with tape.. I'd like to find out today also.
     
  6. Peter Harrison macrumors 6502a

    Peter Harrison

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Check your carrier first. I'm with O2 for example, and they can check what device is being used.
     
  7. Dr Kevorkian94 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #7
    so u want someone to cut there current regular size sim into the size of a micro sim then get a "micro sim to regular sim" adapter for when you want to put it back in the regular phone. COOL:D
     
  8. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #8
    I just ordered an adapter from the site I posted, it was $6.80 shipped, pretty cheap, hopefully it shows up.

    Yes you could do it with tape but how easy would that be to swap back and forth? Probably not that easy. This will allow you to go from the iPhone to the iPad pretty easily.
     
  9. troop231 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #9
    Perhaps a paper sleeve instead of tape then for quick swapping.
     
  10. AVonGauss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    #10
    Then take the SIM out of your phone, cut it to size and see if it will work still in your phone. Either be brave and the guinea pig or use patience.
     
  11. troop231 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #11
    Don't have an iPad or GSM phone..
     
  12. HelveticaNeue macrumors 6502a

    HelveticaNeue

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #12
    Yes, please someone try this. This has been a lingering question since the iPad was first announced. If I were American I would do it in an instant, partly for the curiosity, partly for all those gathered here who wonder.

    I wouldn't use my iPhone SIM though. I would buy a T-mobile SIM with a data plan for a laptop, cut it down and test it. That way we can test if the iPads are truly unlocked (using T-mobile's compatible EDGE network) and if a miniSIM works in an iPad. Then I would call T-mobile and cancel the plan before there is any charge. It would cost 9.99 for the sim and answer a lot of questions.
     
  13. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #14
    I would call my carrier, I can get 2 sim cards that will work simultaneously but use the same data plan for an extra 4 bucks a month :)
     
  14. Imsuperjp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #15
    I just cut down my ATT broadband card sim, put it in my iPad, changed the APN and it works!!
     
  15. Flsgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    #16
    Would like to do this as well. Have ATT 3G in blackberry and want to use for data plan on iPad. Can you give specifics on settings and APN?
     

Share This Page