Anyone else considering an AT&T MicroCell to help out with the iPhone signal?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by HXGuy, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #1
    Its $50 (after $100 mail in rebate) and it uses your home's wireless network to route the calls. For $20 a month, you can get unlimited minutes but that is optional...you don't have to pay it if you want to just use your plan minutes as normal.

    I'm looking into it but honestly the thing should be free after rebate...hell they should credit your account...I mean you are literally using your home network and saving them bandwidth and they exact you to pay for it?
     
  2. Figbash Acrobat macrumors 6502a

    Figbash Acrobat

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alphaville
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A293 Safari/6531.22.7)

    $50? Really? I thought it was much more than that even after a rebate. Maybe they've lowered the price since I last checked. Also thought the monthly costs were more. Personally, I would wait and see what network upgrades they make in your area over the next couple months with all the money coming there way. Last year, maybe around the time, I went from having 1 or 2 bars in my apt to almost full bars all the time. Maybe someone around me has a macrocell! But I think they added a tower or just upgraded it, as this general area was a def weak spot. Just my thoughts. Consider it before investing.
     
  3. fuzion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    #3
    It's normally $150 but has rebates


    And to clarify for hopefully the last time.. the ONLY monthly cost is if you CHOOSE to subscribe to the $20/unlimited minutes on the microcell. If you don't, then talking while using the microcell uses your normal minute plans.



    But.. no. I don't need one.. I have no signal problems.
     
  4. palmerc2 macrumors 65816

    palmerc2

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    The microcell sucks balls.

    I'm gonna have to exchange it, or call tech support
     
  5. Bloake macrumors 6502

    Bloake

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #5
    I don't believe in paying AT&T more to improve the service I'm already paying for...
     
  6. socco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #6
    I've thought about it before. I dropped calls constantly at home with my 2G iPhone. But now I get 5 bars all the time, so I have no need for one.
     
  7. Daremo macrumors 68000

    Daremo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    The Microcell doesn't solve the iPhone 4 signal issue. I have one here at home, and I STILL drop calls.
     
  8. Appmamma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    AZ
    #8
    I have perfect bars with mirocell, but still drop calls all the time. But, it's better than the NO service we usually have.

    We had to do a hard reset which took 4 hours to re program it so it would connect with the iphone4
     
  9. HXGuy thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #9
    Well, just picked one up. Now I have to set it up, I hope it works over WiFi because I don't think I have any available ethernet ports left on the router.

    Also, the rebate is BS...you only get the $100 back if you sign up for the $20 unlimited monthly plan for 2 years. I have to look at my plan and see if it's worth it or not to downgrade the plan to even out the bill.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. jettie1767 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #10
    Not true. The plan is not on a contract. You can cancel anytime.
     
  11. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #11
    No offense, but WTF would I buy something else and give ATT more money to make a phone work???

    Are you kidding me with this????
     
  12. mountainwizrd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #12
    I bought one of these a couple months ago and its working very well, I had 0 bars in my home, now anywhere from 3-5 depending on the distance from the unit. I do get a drop of signal every once in a while-but that may just be my lousy DSL connection-I'm at the max range for our local DSL company, in a river valley, 4 wheel drive only location.
     
  13. jameskk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #13
    I went and bought one yesterday to fix the frequent "searching" issue with my new iPhone 4's signal. It only took about 30 min to activate and my iPhone 4 immediately picked it up and works great with it. I have had a couple of failed outgoing calls but so far no dropped calls and rarely fewer than 4 or 5 bars. I have noticed, however, that I can still cause my iPhone 4 to drop off the macrocell completely by using the covering left corner with my palm, but I have to be more than 20 feet away.
     

Share This Page