Anyone else get the "loading" Apple symbol on boot?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by WilliamG, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    I rebooted this morning (was rebooting into Boot Camp Windows 7), and was greeted with this. I had a minor panic attack. The loading bar went across the screen, and then the system booted into Safe Mode OS X 10.8.3.

    I rebooted, no issue. Then I rebooted into Windows 7 - no issue. Then back into OS X. No issue..

    Weird... This usually only happens on a firmware update etc, but there wasn't one.

    *cries*

    (2012 iMac, 27", fyi).
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    That also happens when the system is rebuilding boot caches or is starting up in Safe Boot. Nothing to worry about. During firmware updates, there is only a loading bar on the screen, no Apple or gear.
     
  3. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    I've never seen it happen, so I'm not sure why it did... Why would it need to boot in Safe Boot?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    It was likely rebuilding the caches. It'll only boot into Safe Boot if you tell it to or it is setup to.
     
  5. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Very odd. I certainly didn't tell it to Safe Boot...
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Like I said, it was likely rebuilding the boot caches. A normal process when starting up.
     
  7. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    It may well be "normal," but I've never seen it happen in over seven years of Mac ownership. :p
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    Just because you've never seen it, doesn't mean it hasn't happened. Have you sat down at thoroughly watched every single startup of your Macs over the years? No, you've probably missed the few you've had over the years. I get them often when restarting after messing with extensions or updating the system.
     
  9. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    It's definitely never happened, because I'd notice it saying Safe Boot at the top of the screen, right?
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Let me explain this one last time. It can happen on two different occasions. One if you do a Safe Boot. Two if it needs to rebuild the boot caches. It will never do both, always one or the other. It will sometimes automatically rebuild the boot caches and continue to boot up normally.
     
  11. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    I fully understand what you're saying. What I'm saying is that it booted Safe Boot. It said so at the top right of my display. So somehow it did a Safe Boot, but not by my own choosing.
     
  12. Nuke61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #12
    Temporarily stuck Shift key?:confused:
     
  13. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    I suppose anything is possible.

    But I call shenanigans! :confused::p
     
  14. Nuke61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
  15. WilliamG thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15

Share This Page