Anyone else getting annoyed by "Resume" in OS X Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Constantine1337, Jul 3, 2011.

  1. Constantine1337 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #1
    Anyone else getting annoyed about the Resume function in OS X Lion?

    I don't know if this is because I was used to re-open my files all the time, but if you think about Resume, it makes very little sense. Here is why:

    1. Lets say you are a student (as myself) and you have to work on some essays and other word-based stuff. So, I'm in one lecture in the morning and have 3 more to go: at the end of the day, if I open Pages I get 8 windows on my screen. Basically every file I opened and used that day gets re-opened.

    2. The other day I was looking at some videos and photos my girlfriend and myself took while we were for a weekend in France. I click to open and watch one video - watch it - and close QT. After 3 videos i get a complete mess on my screen (3 videos running at one time, 2 of them in full screen - QT stops responding)

    3. God forbid I have more than 1 Safari window opened! Each time I relaunch Safari I first have to close windows. I work on 2 displays (MacBook Pro and 24" Samsung) and have few tabs open, as well as 2-3 Safari windows. Sometimes, when I'm done, I just Cmd-Q Safari and reopen it in order to close all windows and focus on only one.

    Simply put: "Resume" is not time saving at all. Each time one opens a program (i.e. Safari, QT, Word etc.), one will have to close the unwanted windows.
     
  2. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #2
    Go to Preferences under General and turn resume off.
     
  3. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #3
    Just turn it off if you don't like it - System Preferences / General / uncheck "Restore Windows when quitting and re-opening Apps" under Number of Recent Items
     
  4. Constantine1337 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #4
    I... did not... know.. that was... possible... :eek:
     
  5. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #5
    ......

    You shut down your computer at the end of every night? :confused:
     
  6. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #6
    To be fair, I think it was only added in like DP3 or DP4. I don't remember seeing it before (but I could be wrong).
     
  7. Constantine1337 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #7
    Where did you get that from? :)
     
  8. HelveticaNeue macrumors 6502a

    HelveticaNeue

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #8
    This wouldn't happen unless you are Command+Q-ing to quit Pages rather than closing the windows when you're done. If you close a window using the little red button in the upper left it doesn't resume the next time you open the app. Only windows open when you Quit the app will resume.

    If you are too used to Command+Q to start clicking the close button, try to wean yourself off by hitting Command+W to close the window instead.
     
  9. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #9
    My mistake, the only time I ever run into Resume is when I restart, otherwise I don't really worry about memory management (meaning I let lion deal with programs) unless I'm running VM's.

    Sorry for the confusion.


    Edit: Thanks HelveticaNeue for the Cmd+W tip! I too reflexively use Cmd+Q all the time.
     
  10. Constantine1337 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #10

    True. But I am on a laptop and I want to have as little opened programs as possible since I need my battery life all day long at the university.
     
  11. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    might be a stupid question

    If you don't Command+Q to close apps, does your dock just keep getting bigger and bigger
     
  12. HelveticaNeue macrumors 6502a

    HelveticaNeue

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #12
    It sure does.


    I am on a MacBook Pro and I understand. I refuse to have any app open that I am not using. I just naturally close the windows before I quit, so Lion won't create any new work for me.
     

Share This Page