Anyone else have experience with Crucial 16GB ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bniu, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #1
    I have been heavily considering the Crucial 16GB ram kit for my early 2011 17" MBP. My question is does the lower voltage 1.35v matter? Does anyone else have this kit and can vouch for its reliability?

    Earlier this year, I purchased 2 separate Crucial 8GB sticks and after a few days, I got repeated kernel panics. Last year when I first got my MBP, I ended up with a defective 8GB ram kit from Crucial. Is it just my bad luck or is Crucial starting to slip in quality? This will be my 3rd attempt at upgrading to 16GB RAM as my first attempt was with the Corsair Value Selects which also caused repeated kernel panics.

    Yeah, I know there's OWC but I'd rather save some cash as Crucial is cheaper...

    Right now, I'm running 8GB of Apple Memory (got them for free somehow...) but I'm constantly paging out...
     
  2. diannao macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #2
    FWIW yesterday I put in the Corsair 16GB Mac Memory in mine and it has been rock solid, passed the extended diagnostics, etc. You might want to consider it as it's priced lower than the Crucial but has been tested to work in our computers.
     
  3. mcmahand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    #3
    I have a late 2011 2.5 mbp and my bother has an early 2011 2.3 mbp; both have had a 16gb crucial kit since jan first and have had no issues at all. They both also have a samsung 830 ssd running lion.

    If you are going to buy from crucial... use the 5% off link.

    http://www.crucial.com/promo/index....ATE&AID=10709324&PID=2210202&SID=uuu209171117

    Also if prices fall they have 45 return/price match policy :D (i used it on my 16gb ram purchase)
     
  4. tekjunke macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    I've been using Crucial 16GB kit and Crucial 512GB SSD for over a month, running multiple VM's all day long... everyday... with absolute perfect results
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
    If you post such (useful) verifications, please include the part# in your post, such as
    CMSA16GX3M2A1333C9 <-- JUST AN EXAMPLE

    Btw:
     
  6. trajan2448 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #6
    I'm using the 1.35 volt 16gb kit in my macbook pro(late 2011). Works fine, no problems. lower voltage means a little less heat so that's always good. bought for under $200 here http://www.antarespro.com/5924401-i...102464BF1339+RAM.aspx?sgd=330d317d316d312d312
     
  7. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    Yes and loving it so much!
    Im glad RAM prices dropped.

    Can't wait for 32GB RAM for my 2011 MBP :D
     
  8. dpreuss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #8
    I just picked up a 2x8 Corsair set from Fry's. The part number on their website is listed as CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9. The $109 price tag was hard to ignore. I have a late 2011 MBP with a 2.2 GHz and 8 GB factory installed.

    Here are my 64-bit Geekbench results:

    New (Corsair)
    Memory Score: 5530
    Read Sequential: 5883 - 7.20 GB/sec
    Write Sequential: 8571 - 5.86 GB/sec
    Stdlib Allocate: 4016 - 15.0 Mallocs/sec
    Stdlib Write: 3952 - 8.18 GB/sec
    Stdlib Copy: 5229 - 5.39 GB/sec

    Old (Samsung)
    Memory Score: 5444
    Read Sequential: 6068 - 7.43 GB/sec
    Write Sequential: 7960 - 5.44 GB/sec
    Stdlib Allocate: 3974 - 14.8 Mallocs/sec
    Stdlib Write: 3958 - 8.19 GB/sec
    Stdlib Copy: 5261 - 5.42 GB/sec

    I have run both the short and long memory tests and both passed. I am very happy with the results as I was fighting a lack of memory because of the applications I use including VMware (even with a single 1GB vm). I'm now able to run 2x2GB VM's without worry or issue. If your device is capable you won't be disappointed, especially for the price.

    This was posted in another thread but thought to update this one in case people are subscribed to this and not the other.
     
  9. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #9
    Good advice. Two days ago I installed Corsair 16GB in my MBP. The part number is: CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9 which was $109 at Fry's. Note this is not the "Mac" memory. I called Corsair and was told by the tech that there is no difference between the two "CMSO and CMSA..." They are the same memory manufactured on the same line. It's just that the "Mac" memory undergo extra testing to ensure it meets Apple requirements. I took a chance and bought the lower-cost CMSO variant. So far it has been running fine. I ran the Mac extended hardware tests and it all passes with no problems reported.

    I'm not suggesting others follow suit. I took a chance and knew it was a chance, and in my case it worked out fine.
     
  10. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #10
    I've had mixed experiences, bought two kits one for myself and one for my brother. Mine worked just fine, the other kit gave constant crashes (on a 13). replaced by the Mac version and had no issues
     
  11. alexstrider18 macrumors member

    alexstrider18

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    dublin , ireland
    #11
    Can't wait for 32GB RAM for my 2011 MBP :D[/QUOTE

    hi ,. i got a quad cre i7 mbp,..:) and its got 8 GB of ram ,.. thing is I'm getting a lot of pages out frequently and ,.. do need more ram ,.. but the thing I'm wondering is ,. when i check tyne activity monitor ,.. and look up the used ram with only that app open it reads ,.
    free ,.. 4.83
    wired 1.14
    active 1.71
    inactive 326.1 mb

    USED 3.16 GB ?? why is it so high with only the activity motor open , no folders or screen shots on the desk top running ????? any advice would be great
     
  12. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #12
    I guess timing is everything. I just bought my 16GB from Fry;s last week for $109. Now the exact same memory is $169.99

    http://www.frys.com/product/6932057?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG
     
  13. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #13
    I have Crucial RAM in all of my machines and a few of their SSDs and all have ran perfectly to date (knock on wood).
     
  14. LostToken macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #14
    Didn't work for me

    I bought the 16GB upgrade from Crucial for my late 2011 15" MBP. It seemed to work fine at first, then it failed to come out of sleep mode. The screen stayed dark and it just beeped three times over and over. After forcing a power off and reseating the memory, it worked again.

    However, over time it did this more frequently and begain to freeze up while the system was running with the same three beeps. (The best I can tell, this is a diagnostic for no good banks found.)

    Apple, of course, said this was not supported. Crucial has been helpful, but the problem still persists. I put the original Apple supplied 4GB back in and it is working just fine.

    Alas, I think I will have to drop back to 8GB. I wanted more since I tend to run a number of VMs simultaneously.
     

Share This Page