Anyone else having problems with Cydia?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by OhioLefty, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. OhioLefty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #1
    Anyone else having problems with Cydia?

    I'm getting a major error with Cydia. It says something is missing a header and Cydia is basically blank, no packages, no sources, no recent changes, nothing! :confused:
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Nope, fine here.
    Did you add any new repos latelly?
     
  3. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #4
    As a matter of fact I did. How do I get everything back? Re-install?

    This is what I get when Cydia tries to load. Everything is empty, Sections, Recent Changes, Packages, Sources.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks everyone for the replies...
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Thats probably the problem.
    You'll have to remove the repo you just added thru SSH.
    Hope you have OpenSSH installed.
     
  5. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #6
    I do have OpenSSH installed. Where do I find the repo I need to remove?

    Would it be easier to just re-install Cydia?

    Update: Rock wanted to re-install Cydia so I let it, didn't change anything. I did notice in Rock that none of the things I installed through Cydia show up there now so I know the DataBase is gone. Why would a repo cause this problem?

    How can I just DELETE Cydia and re-install clean?

    Everytime I get my iPhone just the way I want it, something like this happens. I'm starting to see why Apple puts so many restrictions on what you can do with the iPhone. The more I tinker, the more problems pop up and I haven't really done anything out of the ordinary except for LockInfo, SBSettings and Backgrounder with Kirakae. The life of Jailbreaking isn't what I thought it was going to be.

    I'm open for suggestions on how to get everything back (I really don't want to Restore AGAIN!).
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    No need to reinstall cydia or mess with Rock.
    Sometimes the repo is buggy or misspelled.
    Heres the steps.

    If you added a source that causes Cydia to crash, this is the thread for you. This will help you remove the buggy source you added.

    You will need an ftp/sftp client. [WinSCP for Windows/Cyberduck for Mac]

    1. SSH into your iPhone.

    2. Go to the root of your iPhone.

    3. Navigate to /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cydia.list

    4. Download the Cydia.list to your computer and open it using any text editor.

    5. Delete the source you added. For example, "deb http://www.iphone.org.hk/apt/ ./" if this is the source you want to delete, simply delete that one line. NOT THE WHOLE DOCUMENT. Make sure you save the document as is. We are NOT adding any extensions.

    6. Drag the saved document into the sources.list.d folder and replace the file.

    7. Respring.

    ALL DONE!

     
  7. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #8
    No luck, but I really appreciate the help. I tried deleting one by one and it didn't make any difference. I'm going to bed, I know better than to try stuff like this when I'm tired and have to get up early for work. I'll try again tomorrow.

    Thanks again...
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Good luck bro.
    Here's a few other things to tryout.
    1. Connect & ssh to your iPhone and iPod Touch or use ifile.
    2. Now go to /private/var/lib/apt/lists
    3. Delete all the files in /root/private/var/lib/apt/lists/ except for the partial subfolder.
    4. Exit and reopen cydia. It will take a little longer to download new files.

    Another solution:
    Go to etc/apt/sources.list.d/ where you will find all your sources for Cydia.
    Select all of them EXCEPT SAURIK.list and move them over to your computer. Delete the versions that are on your iPhone/iPod Touch.
    Cydia should now open up.
    To get all your old sources back reinstall Community Sources (this didn’t work for me but it did for some. If this doesn’t work with you can simply move those files back to where they were. Cydia should still boot up.)
    Hope it helps!

    One more thing to try
    In mobileterminal:

    su

    alpine

    apt-get update
    When update is done it will tell you which repos are the problem.


    1. SSH into your IPhone

    2. Navigate to /private/var/lib/apt/lists

    3. Delete whatever_repo_Packages, whatever_repo_Release and whatever_repo_Packages.gpg(if there is one)

    That is all.

    I have ran into a problem where I couldn’t remove a source from the cydia interface. Manage sources and manage packages didn’t work at all.


    Here is how is done.

    1. SSH into your IPhone.

    2. Navigate to etc/apt/sources.list.d

    3. find the file cydia.list

    4. If you are using WinSCP, right click onit and select EDIT

    5. Delete : deb http://cydia.any source.com/ ./

    6. Save and exit.
     
  9. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #10
    Applejuiced,

    I really appreciate the effort you put into helping me, but nothing seems to work. I think I'm hosed on Cydia and probably going to have to do a Restore when I get home tonight (not looking forward to my third Restore in three weeks :mad:) I'm not a total newb when it comes to this stuff as I've spent the last 20 years building my own home computers and hacking and tweaking every electronic device I've ever owned. I'm an Electrical Engineer and spend a lot of time troubleshooting on the job, but the iPhone and Jailbreaking thing has really been a struggle stability wise. My first Restore was due to MobileSubstrate Update that went bad, my second Restore came after a Reboot that never came out of the Apple Logo :apple: screen of Death and now this. Up to this point Cydia had been balking at ModMyi updates but I didn't think anything of it until now. Maybe it had something to do with wiping everything out.

    One other thing, why when you uninstall something on the iPhone it never truely gets wiped out? I was able to get "Rock" to actually un-install Cydia but when I re-installed through Blackra1n (that's how I installed it originally) I get exactly the same error. I would think a clean install would be just that, CLEAN. I'm really going to be pi$$ed if I do a complete Restore and whatever is causing me problems is still there!

    Does anybody know how to get in touch with the Cydia dev (saurik)? Maybe he might have something I haven't tried yet or need to do.

    Thanks again...
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    That sucks bro, I know other people that uninstalled cydia and reinstalled still had the same problems. I guess like you mentioned some stuff dont really get removed.
    Maybe go thru the restore again if everything else fails.
    Good luck.
     
  11. xsecretfiles macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #12
    If you had jailbroken with blackra1n, you could easily uninstall Cydia from the blackra1n app...

    I would recommend a restore if nothing works and use blackra1n this time around..
     
  12. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #13
    I did Jailbreak with blackra1n and I left the app (blackra1n) installed. The only uninstall option I see is for the blackra1n app itself or install Cydia, Rock and sn0w again. Maybe I'm missing something but it would be great if I could COMPLETELY remove Cydia and re-install CLEAN.

    Any help is greatly appreciated. If I don't find a fix before 5:30p today, I'll probably just restore and hope that it fixes my problem. It amazes me that we can't completely and cleanly remove packages we install. Is there some type of "cleaner" out there?

    Thanks again everyone…
     
  13. ckong macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #14
    I've been reading conflicting reports on Cydia installed with Rock. For some, its been a nightmare having both installed. Others...it's been working fine for months.

    I've avoided Rock because of it and stick primarily with Cydia. Of course, this means I can't install MyWi and such but it hasn't been a problem for me.

    What I'm suspecting is that Rock installs a package which Cydia has a dependency on. An older or newer version of a library and bam!...everything goes to pot when Cydia accesses it.

    Now that I've said all that, I'd recommend you install Cydia without Rock (for a while at least). See how stable the phone is or is not. After you install Cydia, you can delete the blackra1n icon from your phone. (Personally, I JB'ed by iPhone with blackra1in, installed Cydia, and then deleted the BR icon.)

    If you're loading any beta software (or even if not), you might also try to inspect any uncertain .deb packages first with a "dpkg --contents" parameter. I did this with iKeyEx & and 5-row-qwerty keyboard...and once I knew there wasn't anything overwritten, I installed the .deb files.

    Anyway, my $0.02 worth, and sorry to read about your problem.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Well said, alot of people are having similar conflicts when they have both Cydia and Rock installers.
    I'd advise also to avoid it and stick with one.
    Cydia would be my choice.

     
  15. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #16
    Believe it or not, Cydia can completely uninstall itself. Just go into Cydia>Manage>Packages. Select Cydia Installer>Modify>Remove.

    The thing is, though, I don't think your problem is with Cydia. It's with apt (the packaging tool behind the scenes).
     
  16. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #17
    This is my problem, when I go into Cydia>Manage>Packages, there is absolutely nothing listed.

    Thanks for trying to help though...

    Update:

    Just before starting to do another restore, I thought I had nothing to loose by trying some variations of what Applejuiced had suggested.

    Here's a few other things to tryout.
    1. Connect & ssh to your iPhone and iPod Touch or use ifile.
    2. Now go to /private/var/lib/apt/lists
    3. Delete all the files in /root/private/var/lib/apt/lists/ except for the partial subfolder.
    4. Exit and reopen cydia. It will take a little longer to download new files.

    I decided after this didn't work I would delete one source and leave everything else in tact. I FOUND IT!!! ModMyi was the culprit, not the ones I added! I think I mentioned things were kind of screwy after I noticed ModMyi was updating one time but it was one of those "can't see the forest for the trees" kind of thing. I was sure it was something I added and not a stock repo! Funny thing is, when I went back in and looked at the list I changed, ModMyi is back in there.

    What I'm doing now, is re-installing packages that were installed (even though they work fine) because Cydia didn't see them installed. So far so good.

    I'll stop back when I get done and give another update.

    Thanks again to all those who helped! Especially you Applejuiced, for sticking with me and not giving up!
     
  17. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    Has anyone tried running

    Code:
    apt-get --purge remove <package>
    apt-get clean
    as root, either over SSH in mobile-terminal? Presumably that's what Cydia would do, anyway...
     
  18. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #19
    I tried in MobileTerminal but it said that command (apt-get?) didn't exist. I did find on the internet that this command can be downloaded and SSH'd into the correct dir. I did not try it from WinSCP.
     
  19. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #20
    Hmm. I just ran the following commands, which seemed to work fine. Seems to have removed WeatherIcon with no problems.

    Code:
    apt-get remove --purge com.ashman.weathericon
    apt-get clean
     
  20. OhioLefty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #21
    Maybe I didn't do something right when I did it. I definitely believe you were able to do it.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Sweet, glad it worked out.
    Beats having to restore and then JB and reinstall everything:)
     
  22. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #23
    Oh, I didn't think you were questioning that I had done it. I'm just curious about why it didn't work for you. Glad it worked out for you, though.
     
  23. journeyguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #24
    This worked for me!!! Thank you!!!
     

Share This Page