Anyone else having TF2 problems?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MatthewAMEL, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    Greetings all.

    Tried posting over on the Steam forums, but no helpful replies yet.

    Giving TF2 some play time since it's now free.

    I can play for 5-6 minutes, then it crashes HARD. Screen freezes, sound becomes one continuous tone, etc.

    I can force quit and the type of error it generates is always a 'hang'.

    I have a MBP 13" i7, 4GB, Intel HD 3000 running 10.6.8.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. raygungirl, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011

    raygungirl macrumors member

    raygungirl

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    Yeah, my boyfriend tried playing on my iMac and we had a lot of problems. We couldn't Force Quit, had to do a hard shut down and restart, and now it seems that the refresh rate on my monitor is screwed up even when Steam isn't running.

    I have no idea how to fix it or even what to look for, but before he played TF2 earlier, my Mac was fine. Now, it's hard to move the mouse around and the scroll wheel only works sometimes, double-clicking is touch and go, and when I click a window to move it around, it seems to stutter like I'm watching a video that's dropping frames. The Mac doesn't seem to be acting any differently besides that, but it's obviously way messed up when it wasn't at all before.

    I'm pretty upset, and I don't know how to fix it. Any ideas? :(

    Edit: Restarted twice, repaired permissions like 3 times in a row and unplugged/replugged in mouse. Seems to be acting normal again but my mind's boggling as to how the game messed up my mouse to begin with. It wasn't loose in the USB port, it's just a regular Logitech mouse with no special Logitech software for button-bindings, etc. Very, very weird.

    I still don't really know why the game messed up, since I never have trouble with Valve's other games on Steam for Mac, but I think there was a new patch today, so maybe it's flawed somehow. I know before the game froze on him, my boyfriend was having trouble finding servers to connect to (though on his Windows laptop he had no problems just a few minutes before).
     
  3. superericla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #3
    It's likely that your problem is coming from Valve's servers for the game being overloaded. Since it's now free to play, many more people are playing it so the servers are likely having trouble handling the load.
     
  4. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    No, not at all. That wouldn't cause the game itself to hang like that.

    Might be a problem with the latest OSX drivers. I'm running on Windows. Been playing TF2 since before it's real launch, and put a lot of time into it yesterday and it hasn't crashed on me.
     
  5. natatos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    Iowa
    #5
    Just a thought but when you started to play the game did it mention turning on assistive devices? The first time I started it it froze on a loading screen and had red blocks on the Valve screen. Then when I turned it on it worked fine.
     

Share This Page