Anyone else nervous about Mavericks?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by imanidiot, Oct 22, 2013.

1. imanidiot macrumors 6502a

I've been running Snow Leopard for over three years, having resisted Lion and Mountain Lion, but I'm about to download Mavericks. And, yes, I'm nervous.

Anyone else in the same boat?

2. firedept macrumors 603

firedept

Not at all nervous here. Must have something new that interest you though.

3. mic j macrumors 68030

No. I have been following testers comments and they seem to be very positive about the quality of it.

But let's be real...any software release may have issues that need to be resolved with updates. Snow Leopard was not perfect at release either but got refined to a very nice release over time.

4. kappaknight macrumors 68000

kappaknight

5. rexone macrumors regular

Lake Weyba on the sub-tropical Sunshine Coast :)
    I've been wary of Apple OS updates ever since the disaster that was Lion...
    Sounds like they've managed to remove functionality from a lot of the updated apps. Seeing lots of threads about missing features but none about new ones!

6. Mr. McMac Suspended

Mr. McMac

No because I have a cloned copy of Mountain Lion with all my stuff. I can always restore from that if something went wrong. Happy to say nothing did.

7. old-wiz macrumors G3

Before updating, be absolutely sure you have a bootable clone in case things go seriously wrong. You should never do a release upgrade without backup. Actually you should always have backups, period.

8. Fishrrman macrumors G3

I will second what old-wiz said.

BEFORE you update, use either CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper to create a bootable clone on an external drive.

By doing this, you can always "go back" if you need to -- by simply "cloning the backup drive" back over to your internal drive.

If you don't already have an external backup drive, I'd suggest doing this:
    1. Get yourself a "bare" hard drive from the vendor of your choice.