iPad Anyone else pick up a defective iPad Air?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by aidancbrady, Nov 1, 2013.

1. aidancbrady macrumors newbie

aidancbrady

Got myself a brand new black 16 GB iPad Air today, been looking forward to this day for quite some time :)

Sadly, that :) turned into a :( once I actually started using it.

First of all, overall performance is spectacular compared to my iPhone and other iOS devices. They aren't joking around with that A7 processor.

I experienced something that seemed like a crash when I was originally setting up the iPad - when I was selecting my language, the screen went black and then to the Apple logo. Everything seemed normal from there on out though, until I started playing around with Mail and noticed the accelerometer was screwed up, and couldn't get it to work without restarting the iPad.

After downloading a good selection of apps, I started really putting it to use - browsing safari, pulling up a good 10 apps and keeping them running in the background, etc. Anyway, a grey overlay started to sweep across the screen from the left, and then a blue screen appeared for a split second followed by blackness. I thought this may just be due to all the apps I had open and running, so I cleared out my list of running apps and restarted the device. After this, just by browsing the MacRumors forums, I experienced three consecutive crashes in about 5 minutes, each the exact same process - grey overlay, blue, black. After these crashes the device would always immediately restart.

One other thing to note - the battery seems to be completely screwed up. The percentage bar never goes up (kept it charging for 3 hours, nothing changed), and it still seems to drain even when plugged in (went from 82% to 75% while still plugged in). Note that the percentage never actually "changed" visibly, it would only display different results immediately after I restarted it.