Anyone else want an option for safari automatic refresh?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by falkedup, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. falkedup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #1
    Drives me nuts every time i open safari and I have to wait for it to reload a page before I can even have access to the controls. Or if I want to just quick reference something I pulled up earlier.

    Unless there is a way to turn it off that I don't know about?
     
  2. jonasdamn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #2
    If you dont want to reload pages again, dont kill safari app
     
  3. falkedup thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #3
    So it shouldn't do that? I rarely kill my apps

    I thought it was an always refreshed page kinda thing
     
  4. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #4
    I've noticed auto-refresh when swiping back to previous pages.
    Especially if you don't exit reader mode before swiping back.
    It is annoying but I'm hoping it gets ironed out.
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    Still does it quite often even when the app is not killed (and not many apps are used that would really take up that much memory that Safari would have to give it up).
     
  6. jason2811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #6
    If you only have 1-2 tabs open then it won't refresh. Also, if it's been several hours since you've opened Safari then it'll refresh. I hate it as well.
     
  7. Decimotox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #7
    Not necessarily true. If you have an older ipad or the mini which has less RAM, they reload if you were to leave safari and go to another app or two. If you come back later to it, they refresh automatically.
     
  8. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    Have had it even with 1 tab open on iPhone 5 (so enough RAM), possibly simply because a few hours have passed, which is a very lame "excuse" to do it.
     
  9. adam044 macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
  10. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    Doesn't it do the same kind of things (after all it's just mostly a UI wrapper on Safari's web view, without the faster Nitro JavaScript engine)?
     
  11. adam044 macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Yeah basically. But I use Chrome on my Mac so that's why I use it on my phone/ipad. Keeps it synced
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    Ah, sure...but I don't think it would really make a difference when it comes to this whole thing.
     
  13. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #13
    The reason for the auto-refresh in the first place is how Safari handles the page cache. If you come back to a tab or Safari and the cache for it has been purged, then it reloads it.

    Safari as far as I know only uses RAM as its cache. And if a memory request causes iOS to ask Safari to reduce its memory footprint, then the cached pages get purged. It's a simple cache system, but it works.

    Other browsers can handle the caching differently on iOS (it is part of the web view that you can override). So if Chrome caches to flash, it will at least auto-refresh much more quickly since it can load/render from disk rather than the network.
     
  14. CyanLite macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #14
    So which browser on the App Store gets rid of this 'feature'?
     
  15. abshole765 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
  16. CyanLite macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #16
    OP wants an option, you should still be able to toggle it on/off.
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    What? How does this related to what is being asked?
     
  18. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #18
    Any browser has to implement their own caching if it isn't RAM-based. So, it depends.
     
  19. CyanLite macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #19
    Do you know of any specific ones?
     
  20. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #20
    No, I don't. If they don't mention it in the description, there isn't really a way to tell without using it and guessing. I haven't used anything other than Safari in a while because I rely on it for bookmark syncing. :/
     

Share This Page