Anyone ever get AMD 7990 running?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by artherd, Aug 15, 2014.

  1. artherd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #1
    In a 09-12 Mac Pro? Presumably with a dedicated GPU powers supply?

    Mac EFI firmware? (boot screens)

    5.0GT/sec as opposed to 2.5?
     
  2. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #2
  3. artherd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #3
    I didn't find anything about the 7990 specifically.
     
  4. artherd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #4
    Anyone? Do I need to buy one and blindly try it?
     
  5. artherd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #6
    That thread is from the 10.8.5 days (which should support tahiti GPUs...) We're at 10.9.4 now.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    The card is not even detected under both OSX and Windows.
     
  7. stix666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    #8
    yes - please
     

Share This Page