Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TotalMacMove

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 18, 2013
USA
Kind of a neat feature that I never guessed would be on the watch.. I am an occupational health professional for oil & gas and constantly use sophisticated noise dosimeters when evaluating sites. I am excited to compare how the watch performs against a $1200 piece of equipment. Haha, anyone else?

Reactions: the future

StumpyBloke

macrumors 603
Apr 21, 2012
England
Me. I think anything like this is always a welcome addition. From the quick glimpses on the internet it’s surprisingly accurate too.

Plett

macrumors 6502
Feb 16, 2016
I am sure some will have a use for it. Me, No not sure I would ever have a need. When something is loud I move away or put on hearing protection.

Itinj24

Contributor
Nov 8, 2017
New York
I'm not excited for it but I'm interested in using it. I'm one of those weirdos that wears earplugs during concerts and I've always wondered what the decibel level is when my clothes are vibrating from the sound!
There’s nothing weird about that. Save your hearing because once it’s gone, it doesn’t come back. Nothing cool about hearing loss for the sake of a concert. The general rule of thumb is if it’s causing pain, it’s causing loss.

Newtons Apple

Suspended
Mar 12, 2014
Jacksonville, Florida
Not that exciting for me. Seldom around anything that reaches dangerous decibels.

The loudest thing I am around is my commercial Toro mower and I wear Bose noise canceling headphones while riding. Led Zeppelin and Emerson Lake and Palmer are my choice while mowing my 2.5 acres.

matrix07

macrumors G3
Jun 24, 2010
It will be rather interesting to see the accuracy of it. I plan to test it vigorously in different environments with a 3M Edge 5 dosimeter!