Anyone find 2GB Ram not enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by zer0tails, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. zer0tails macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    have any macbook air owners here found that 2GB ram is inadequate for their needs?

    I'm thinking it should be fine for me now, but i'm just worried say 2 years down the road if the 2GB ram will be enough, since ram is not upgradeable on the MBA.

    i know the MBA is the machine I want, but i'm afraid of spending 2500 on a notebook which isn't very futureproof.

    thoughts?
     
  2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    2GB should be good on the MBA since it is not meant for much more than checking email, surfing the web, office type tasks, etc. It is not intended to be a video editing box or a gaming computer so I think 2GB should be ample RAM if you are using it for its intended use. I will say that of the options that you have with Apple laptops, it is probably the least "futureproof" option.
     
  3. zer0tails thread starter macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    yes, I understand it's not a video editing computer :D I have my mac pro for that.

    I'm just going to work on word documents, excel spreadsheets, and surfing safari, and chatting on adium, with itunes providing the music.

    I only am asking because i realized when I first got my macbook pro last year with the default 2GB of ram, all those things only left about 40mb of free ram.

    so i was just wondering I guess. I don't really care too much about the battery not being user replaceable and all that. Just wondering as apps become more ram hungry and we know os x is, so i'm thinking ahead to snow leopard, will 2gb be sufficient?
     
  4. toughboy macrumors 6502a

    toughboy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Izmir, Turkey
    #4
    Well sadly, there is nothing called 'futureproof'. 1 year from now, 2GB RAM will become 1GB of now. Thats why I always recommend my friends and relatives who ask for advice to maximize their amount of memory when they purchase a computer whether Mac or something else.

    With MBA on the other hand, you are putting everything behind mobility, including upgradability. With the new MacBok only 2kgs in weight, I would go with the new unibody MacBooks if I were you if you care about upgradability that much.
     
  5. Y2JDMBFAN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #5
    The problem for me is the screen on the Macbook...I currently have a 1st gen MBA 1.6/80 and picked up a 13" Macbook when they were announced. I got the Macbook because I was getting tired of the slowness of launching some apps and the heat generated by streaming video and was willing to trade the weight difference for the integrated Superdrive and upgradable HDD and RAM and better cooling. I really liked the Macbook until I compared it to the Air side by side. The screen is worlds better on the Air, it isn't even a close comparison. You have to tilt the Macbook pretty far back and can really only get a good picture in one spot. The side to side viewing is horrible and the screen washes out quickly and gets the reverse video effect the original ipod touches were getting. Looks like I am going to bite the bullet and try my luck with the 2nd Gen Air...I just don't' want to wait 2 weeks! :(
     
  6. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #6
    With the graphics using 256MB, you only have 1.75GB of RAM usable. Yes, I found that in some circumstances the RAM was getting maxed out. Wasn't horrendous but there was the slowness and spinning beachball. Just closed Safari and reopened or emptied cache or closed something that wasn't being used heavily.
     
  7. yorkshire macrumors 6502a

    yorkshire

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7


    You're referring to the new aluminium MB right?
     
  8. dehory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #8
    That sounds kind of lame... You really have to wonder why on earth Apple decided not to have a 4GB RAM option. It's not like they've streamlined motherboard assembly by just offering one processor.
     
  9. ducatidoc macrumors regular

    ducatidoc

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #9
    simple. it leaves steve something new and better to sell in january.
     
  10. Y2JDMBFAN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #10
    Yep...
     
  11. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
  12. TheRiseofTheFal macrumors regular

    TheRiseofTheFal

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington
    #12
    then why own one if its just a fancy tool for the rich? I'm only a college student, but i enjoy not lugging a behemoth to class when this is exactly what I need

    edit: I'm not attacking you as you've been helpful in working on finding a new hd for me, just curious about your line of reasoning since you own one in addition to a fairly feature heavy macbook
     
  13. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #13
  14. 1rottenapple macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #14
    Maybe you should write steve jobs and tell them to add the policy to not sell to non-business users since you seem to be all knowing.
     
  15. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #15
    I think that even though futureproofness is a reality; all Apple laptops will always be obsolete relatively soon. The only real way to really futureproof the machine is upgrading everything and spending the most money, which is likely not an option for most people.
     
  16. 1rottenapple macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #16
    Is there really such a thing as future proofing technology? I think you can future proof a house, but cars, technology... Something always comes up. 4 years from now, the Airs design is gonna look dated with the way Apple's design is going. Processing speed multiple each year, cars get faster, more hp with better fuel economy.
     
  17. zer0tails thread starter macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    I guess futureproofing is the wrong word.

    Let's put it this way, i have an old iMac 1.25 ghz. It came with 512mb of ram. 4 years later it still works great for me with the basic tasks I get it to do. So i wouldn't call it obsolete.

    Why? I upped the ram to 1GB. That's what I really meant. 1.25 ghz G4 chip is still good enough for the tasks i have it do.

    Processing speed, and the latest and greatest emerge every 6 months. That's a given. New design etc.

    I'm just wondering how long 2GB will be good enough that's all. Because one can solve the small HD with an external.

    but as many people know, ram is one of the vital organs of a computer.
     
  18. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #18
    I'm happy with 2GB in my MBA, but I'm much happier with 8GB in my Mac Pro...:p
     
  19. TJunkers macrumors 6502a

    TJunkers

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #19
    I have 2 GB in my iMac and 4 GB in my laptop and they both run great. I do video editing, photo editing, and so on and my iMac runs every program great with 2 GB! and these are programs like CS3 Suite, and Final Cut Studio.
     
  20. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #20
    The RAM is matched well enough to the other components. I had very low expectations for my MBA, and it managed to exceed them all.

    I do not watch any video, the toughest things I do are play with Logic Pro a bit when I am away from the MP at home and use math programs in Vista.

    If I was buying today, I probably would have gone for the new MB, but I am happy with my purchase.
     
  21. zer0tails thread starter macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    appreciate everyone sharing.

    @gotzero: the macbook is very nice but so is the air. It's a tough choice between them. Air does have a nicer screen though.

    @TJunkers: i'm impressed. :)

    Oh something interesting to add, I was reading Anandtech's review of the macbook air, and he mentioned that the air is the kind of computer one upgrades every 2 years.

    It would be nice if I could do that. But this air i'm buying would have to last me 3 years at least before i consider upgrading. Hence, my initial ram question.

    So, how long do you expect your MBA to last you?
     
  22. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #22
    I think the Air will last a few years when used as a NetBook. Some people are still happy with their G4.

    This may interest you guys. Future proof?

    [​IMG]
     
  23. eRondeau macrumors 6502a

    eRondeau

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Canada's South Coast
    #23
    Don't be concerned about this; don't think that you'd run out of RAM if you tried to load a 45MB application. OSX is exceptionally good at memory management which means shuffling things in-and-out of RAM. In your case, OSX was efficiently using all the available RAM it could -- while invisibly paging-out hundreds of megabytes of code and data as you switched between applications. I still use an iMac G3 (Tiger 10.4.11 / 600MHz / 640MB / 40GB) regularly for email, surfing, and Microsoft Office 2004 and believe it or not, it is still very usable for all these things. And that G3 machine is now 7 years old! :apple:
     
  24. andrewp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #24
    I really can't understand why you are questioning this. Mac isn't like Vista. Vista uses 1gb for the operative system (unless you tweak it), if you add antivirus + other security tools it'll become even more. My PC runs on 33% with 4gb.

    As for Mac, the operative system only needs up to 300mb + 256 ram for the graphics, which leaves 1500 ram for everything else. IMO photoshop rarely uses more than 1gb.
    So I'm getting my MBA2.0 in 2-3 weeks, and I'm looking forward to be running WOW fluently and playback some of my cubase projects on it. Another thing is the playback of 1080p movies on my television through the MBA.

    Now I'm certain that it can handle all of these things without problems because my other laptop (1,5 dual core) can do it. The only question is whether there'll still be problems with the overheating, but looking at the graphic card change, I think that we can expect it to be solved too.
     
  25. zer0tails thread starter macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    @ eRondeau: I never saw it that way, thanks, I love OS X :)

    @ andrewp: I know the 2GB of ram will handle things very well now and with no problems. I was questioning it because I plan to keep my MBA for 3 years at least hopefully, and was questioning whether 2GB of ram will be sufficient in a year or two's time.

    I think it'll still get a little warm, but not overheat.
     

Share This Page