Anyone format external drives in exFAT format?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pjny, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. pjny macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm using Macbook Pro(2010, 10.6.6) and a PC with Windows 7. I need to transfer image files from both laptops to an external drive. I formatted the external drive in exFAT and wanted to know if there are any problems that might occur in the future.

    I already know there is an issue with such programs as Carbon Copy Cloner. I primarily need the drive for backup of the images and not system backups.

    Do you have any file corruption or other problems formatting in exFAT?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    Of course, small file handeling is deprioritised, but works great.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    exFAT (FAT64)
    • Supported in Mac OS X only in 10.6.5 or later.
    • exFAT partitions created with OS X 10.6.5 are inaccessible from Windows 7
    • Not all Windows versions support exFAT. See disadvantages.
    • exFAT (Extended File Allocation Table)
    • Maximum file size: 16 EiB
    • Maximum volume size: 64 ZiB
     
  4. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
  5. MacSignal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #5
    …and exFat drives are also not recognized by AEBS. Too bad!
     
  6. pjny thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #6
    I formatted the drive using Windows 7 because I heard there was a problem with drives formatted exFAT using OSX. Is this why you suggest MBR format?

    Thanks for all the replies. The images are archival and I will be using the drive for one of 3 backups.

     
  7. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #7
    I'm not suggesting, it is required for windows machines to recognize drives.
    which is also why formatting it with windows automatically puts it in MBR.
     

Share This Page