anyone get crossover to run Fallout 3?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by binaryslyder, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. binaryslyder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    Oh joy of joys, Fallout 3 is finally here. I played Fallout 1 all the way through when it first came out, so I could care less about spiffy graphics. I'm just hoping the story isn't utter crap.

    At any rate, I wanted to check in and see if anyone out there has managed to successfully run Fallout 3 in crossover. Now, before any of you bootcamp jockies try to clamp this thread down, here's my argument for crossover.

    When I boot into Windows to play counter strike: Source, I have to turn all the high end graphic settings down and I still only manage about 35fps. However, I can leave most of these settings on in crossover and can easily command 60+fps without much issue.

    What's the verict? Anyone have any luck yet?

    My rig:

    Macbook pro 2.2Ghz
    4gig RAM
    Intel GMA X3100
     
  2. ScantmanSpecial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #2
    I am downloading Fallout 3 right now and will be attempting to run it through

    Crossover Mac Pro 7.1 on:

    Mac Pro (early 2008)
    2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    4 GB 800 MHz DDR2 F8-DIMM
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB

    I am excited to see if CrossOver will improve my gaming experience since when I BootCamp into Windows, it only recognizes 2 GB of ram and 1 processor. If anyone has suggestions as to how I can bench mark this game in both OS's then please let me know, I am curious to see the numbers!
     
  3. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #3
    Others have tried it, and it doesn't work in Crossover Games. It doesn't run in any Wine implementation at this point. You'll have to play it in a bootcamp Windows install.
     
  4. Cantello macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Lüneburg
    #4
    Or maybe try any of the other virtualisation methods, e.g. Parallels, VMWare or VirtualBox.

    I doubt that it will run decently, though.
     
  5. glyphery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    #5
    Fallout 3 DVD-ROM Error on MacBook Pro

    Hello, everyone. I'll probably be cross-posting this on several relevant threads, so my apologies if you come across this more than once.

    My situation is this. I received Fallout 3 as a birthday pressie and the DVD-ROM installed perfectly on the Windows desktop computer, which is the 'gaming rig'. But it would be nice to be able to play a bit of the game when I'm away from home, so I also tried installing it on WinXP SP3 running via a BootCamp partition on my MacBook Pro...

    ...and the MBP's drive won't recognise the disc. I pop it in, it whirrs up, Windows temporarily locks up My Computer, and after a minute of desperate whirring and clicking, the MBP drive spits out the retail DVD-ROM again.

    Has anyone out there experienced this before... and if so, can you give me any advice on how to fix this problem? Is it just because Apple 'SuperDrives' are rubbish, or could this have something to do with Fallout 3 using SecureROM or god knows what else? I've installed dozens of Windows games on my MBP using BootCamp and never before encountered a game disc being rejected like this.

    I just want to play the game I legally own, on Windows... just on my MBP. Any ideas out there? Many thanks in advance!
     
  6. franxa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #6
    Fallout3 and Parallels

    Hi everyone

    I'm new in the place, but I just want to inform you and maybe to avoid wasting some of you time.

    I've spend maybe 5houres trying to run Fallout 3 on my macbook white using parallels.
    I could manage to install the game, lunch it, see the main menu, choose the preferences, but when you click on "play" : error "windowed mode not supported".
    After few research online, I find that my shipset was the reason of the problem. The intel integrated GMA X3100 seems to need patch to make latest game running.
    After downloading patch from intel website, impossible to make the graphique patch working.

    Here I'm stuck, not far from heaven, but I'm stuck.
    I've tried !

    Greating mac people


    franxa
     
  7. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7
    Sounds like you just need to update the graphics card drivers in Bootcamp. Get the latest ones from Nvidia or ATI (whichever is relevant).
     
  8. franxa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #8
    not able to make Graphic patch works

    Hi dude

    I guess you are right, but don't have this kind of graphic card, it's the intel GMA X3100.
    Even trying patch from intel website for windows XP, it doesn't work : configuration issue.
    I tried 14.34 driver for GMA

    Thanks anyway

    franxa
     
  9. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #9
    I don't think the x3100 has a snowballs chance in hell of running Fallout 3, sorry.
     
  10. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #10
    Don't miss this game. It's simply incredible.
     
  11. Dalmuti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #11
    I'm currently running Fallout 3 on my iMac with Bootcamp and XP SP3. It runs fine, graphics are up pretty high and the game runs smooth, except for some infrequent slowdowns and crashes that are not Mac specific. The back gets pretty hot so I have a small fan running to blow off some of the extra heat, keeps my office warm...

    Check the minimum requirements for your graphics card, but I don't think F3 supports the GMA integrated chipsets, they just don't have the juice.

    Dalmuti
    3ghz iMac w/ GeForce 8800 512
     
  12. franxa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #12
    Yes, you're right.

    I'm back for Fallout 1 & 2 for a while !
     
  13. Ryvius macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    #13
    It's gratifying how well this game plays on my 2008 pre-unibody MBP. The developers really outdid themselves with this project.
     
  14. Radio Monk33 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #14
    Wonderful game..I can see myself losing many hours to this. The post-apocalyptic survival world is more intriguing to me than Oblivion. Nicer pacing imo.
     
  15. SoybeanStasher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #15
    I had taken a pretty long hiatus from serious gaming (still played quick games like Mario Kart and Rock Band). Fallout 3 brought me back, and I love it. I let the game choose the graphics settings automatically for my Late 2008 MacBook Pro and it looks great. I've already spent hours wandering around completing side quests and I'm sure I'll do a lot more of it before returning to the main story.
     
  16. AlexColeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #16
    I really need some help. I have got a Unibody Macbook Pro, and need some help setting up fallout 3. I have Fallout 3, and windows XP sp3. I can't get it to install or even setup for boot camp. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  17. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #17
    More details would be useful. Like, have you installed the bootcamp drivers? what exactly happens when you try and install it? Is your mac actually a cat?
     
  18. AlexColeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #18
    Actually I have finally gotten it to install, I just need to know if it wil be able to run FO3. My problem was that I wasn't formatting to NTFS in the setup screen. Thanks.
     
  19. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #19
    It should. I play FO3 on my MBP one generation prior to the new unibodies.
     
  20. AlexColeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #20
    That is great, now I have it installed, but it crashes everytime I open it. I made it through the opening, and now are in megaton. When I open it, it loads and all but crashes in seconds, any help?
    Edit: No error messages.
     
  21. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #22
    Do you have the latest video drivers from nvidia? They have notebook drivers available, so you can try installing those to see if they make any difference.
     

Share This Page