Anyone gone from MacBook Air to Retina MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by entatlrg, Jun 19, 2012.

1. entatlrg macrumors 68040

entatlrg

How are you enjoying it so far, particularly the weight and larger foot print?

Do you use the rMBP most on your lap, desk, for travel or ?

The retina display is so tempting but I use a notebook on my lapt often, it's a tough decision trading added size/weight for the beautiful screen.

2. SCalkins macrumors regular

I understand where your coming from ... I do a lot of traveling throughout my campus as I am a medical student. I chose the retina MBP as it is only an extra pound then the air. I do not foresee an issue with traveling a retina MBP vs. an air. Although the wedge design of an air is quite stylish I must say the retina is a design of its own class.

3. OSMac macrumors 65816

The retina screen is wonderful but the entire package is big.
    The base of the 15.4 is massive compared to the 11" Air.

I think Apple would have had wider sales if they used a 16:9 screen with no side bezels, those changes alone would have made for a significantly smaller footprint. The screen size could have been reduced to say 14.5 as well.

I'm leaning towards returning it, but it's not a an easy choice as other than the large footprint its such a great device. I think once the Air and 13.3 lines go Retina these big units will be hard to sell?

The weight and balance with lap use is fine, a bit back heavy.

I purchased it with Final Cut Pro use in mind where the Air's screen is on the other end of the scale.

I'm going to give it a few more days, see if I adjust.

4. brentsg macrumors 68040

Wow, that would have been horrible. 16:9 is a terrible aspect ratio for a device that you aren't using primarily to watch movies.

It sounds like you simply bought the wrong device for your needs.

5. ZipZap macrumors 601

There is no reasonable comparison between the rMBP and the Macbook Air 11".