Anyone got Apple TV & PS3, using HB what preset is best?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MrMister111, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. MrMister111 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #1
    I've got a PS3, and thinking of getting an Apple TV for upstairs for movies/TV eps.

    I prefer a decent quality and only one file for all. I also have an iPod touch. So should I use the universal or the Apple TV preset in Handbrake?

    Any tips/tricks also please
    cheers
     
  2. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #2
  3. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #3
    Neither Apple TV or Apple Universal presets will work on the PS3 (I tried when I still had my PS3) but others here have mentioned using PS Media Server, which will encode video on the fly while streaming to a PS3. As you would be re-encoding an already once encoded file, I'd imagine the quality is pretty poor though.
     
  4. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #4
    Just tried it again. I figured nothing had changed. It still doesn’t support .M4V files or .MOV files even if the video track inside the container contains a compatible video encode (MPEG-4 h.264, etc). But the QuickTime badging I mentioned above still works, and it doesn’t transcode/re-encode the original Handbrake file. However, it will get rid of the AC-3 soundtrack to make the file compatible with the standard MPEG-4 container.

    The PS3’s handling of media files is piss poor. You can’t sort your media into double nested folders, there is no metadata or artwork for video files and it can’t even read AAC audio tags unless they’re encoded using the defunct 3GPP container (so no artwork or correct track/album data for DRM-free iTunes music).

    Why doesn’t Sony fix this? We all know the hardware is capable.
     
  5. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #5
    I literally just finished ripping a DVD to test this. I just clicked the preset in HB and clicked start.

    I encode all my movies with HandBrake using the Apple Universal preset. They work just fine on my PS3 and AppleTV. The PS3 shows no metadata and doesn't see the AC3 audio, but it has no trouble playing the AVC/AAC in an M4V container. I'm fairly sure my Xbox 360 plays the same files, but I don't have it here to check.

    I really do wish they'd revamp the media features, though. The lack of artwork and metadata, and the absolutely horrid organization of media files needs a total redesign.
     
  6. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #6
    Did you copy them directly to the PS3 or are you streaming via a media server? When I copied mine directly it showed them as a “corrupted data,” although I was using the Apple TV preset.
     
  7. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    Unless something has changed ... afaik the PS3 cannot play 64 bit mp4 files, so maybe try atv or universal preset and uncheck Large File Size ( which is the 64 bit mp4 option) .
     
  8. GermanSuplex macrumors 6502a

    GermanSuplex

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #8
    Another vote for the Universal preset.

    Perfect balance between quality and size. Results are always transparent or just short of it for me. It also plays on everything except for the 5G video iPod.
     
  9. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #9
    Use MetaX to get artwork and metadata.
     
  10. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #10
    I put the movies on an external hard drive inside a folder named "Video". The AppleTV preset doesn't work for me either on multiple devices. Also, files over 4GB are not very portable due to differing hard drive formats. So I've just been encoding with Apple Universal.

    I do that. The PS3 doesn't read the metadata. Windows sees it just fine, and I'm fairly certain the Xbox 360 does as well.

    PS3 Media Server is a great free software. The best part is allowing navigation of the iTunes Media folder for content. That way everything is a bit more organized and easier to find than on the XMB. My consoles and PC are in the same room, so I rarely watch movies on the consoles, mainly using iTunes.
     
  11. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #11
    Mix of results.. Some say works some say not.?. Suppose will have to test but can't at mo as don't have A'TV

    Apple universal would prob be best as I have an iPod touch, PS3, and hopefully an Apple TV.

    I use PS3 media server now and it does order/organise better. I aim to have a my vids on a PC out of the way with my iTunes library on and PS3 media server sharing the iTunes folder
     
  12. GermanSuplex macrumors 6502a

    GermanSuplex

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #12
    The PS3 is probably the reason I own an Apple TV in the first place. I'd play a Handbrake-encoded movie or TV show on the PS3 and it would play fine, then I'd try to play another and get a "The File Is Corrupted" error. Then I'd have to reboot and it would play. I got tired of the inconsistency.
     
  13. andyloc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.13337/1128; U; en) Presto/2.2.0)

    Ah so your saying sometimes wont play on PS3. Is this with latest firmware? I was hoping for file to play on both consistently. Ie PS3 downstairs and apple tv upstairs.
     
  14. GermanSuplex macrumors 6502a

    GermanSuplex

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #14
    I don't know, I haven't tried to play anything other than a game or a Blu-Ray on the PS3 in sometime, probably 8 months to a year.

    I've never had ANY mp4 play consistently on the PS3. I had files encoded with the iPod legacy preset, the Apple Universal preset, some unprotected purchased music videos, and some purchased videos ran through requiem to remove the DRM, and with the same result: they'd play fine one second then not at all the next, forcing me to reboot.
     
  15. andyloc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.13337/1128; U; en) Presto/2.2.0)

    So its only the ones with drm that had the bother though? If so could you try an unprotected file using apple universal and try on PS3 and apple tv please? PS3 is now on firmware v3.1 so maybe better than what you were used to. Thanks
     
  16. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #16
    Well I tried a chapter using AppleTV and universal preset and both won't play on my PS3, say corrupted data.

    What do people do to get it working? People above stated worked fine. Can you help with settings please.

    I'm leaning towards Universal as this also plays on my iPod touch 1st Gen
    cheers
     
  17. katyoshi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #17
    I have both but I couldn't hook up the apple tv to the ps3 either. It seems I am using more of my ps3 because now I have netflix and I get blu-ray movies for about $10! I have a busy life and I don't expect to receive 2+ movies each time so I got the lowest plan. The ATV is good in that it plays the movies I already have on there, the music player is good, it's internet radio is good too.
     
  18. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #18
    I have a feeling most of them that say it works are using PS3 Media Server or other DLNA servers that actually transcode the file.

    It won't play MPEG-4 files created with the Apple TV preset outright. The people that got it work had to have modified the Apple TV preset. Dynaflash suggested above to uncheck the large file size option.
     
  19. melbdean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #19
    i have spent nearly two years in this nightmare --how to create a single file that plays in 5.1 on both the atv and ps3.
    recently i finally hit pay-dirt after trying every single trick mentioned and then some. i have changed the atv preset h.264 options to include level 41, changed all the file names to .mp4 to suit the ps3, made sure the file was created in the correct mpeg container that ps3 likes (whatever that means), used mpegstreamclip/ ffmpegx/ dvision3/ visualhub/ toast/ roadmovie/ and others to check HB wasn't the issue, ripped with DVD2oneX instead of MTR, ripped with RipIt, and on and on and on and on and on and on and on ... ... ... some worked, most didn't. nothing was ever 100%.
    and then just before i hacked the atv and was done with it, someone in a forum gave me the answer. it was really quite simple: using the HB 9.3 PS3 Setting, click the Audio/ Subtitles Tab, change Track Mixdown to 6-Channel Discrete. voila. bliss.
    and now HB have updated and the ps3 setting is gone.
    ps3mediaserver transcoding on the fly is a great solution. but not 100%.
    currently i am using the appleTV setting with a second audio track added -ac3 with 6-channel discrete. i do get 5.1 sound from both the atv and ps3 but i suspect my yamaha amp has the most say. again, not 100%, but in the 90's.
    sony should just fix the problem --the lastest firmware upgrade included Polish as a language. and something to do with albums for photos.
    the new Samsung series 8 TV's come with an in-built media player that plays every file type ever. plug is a hard-drive and that's it, push play. soon, no-one will need atv/ ps3. particularly with all the grief they give us.
     
  20. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #20
    Can I ask for an update and final solution on this issue please. Usig Handbrake 0.94 does the Apple TV preset work on Apple TV, PS3 and iPhone 3GS?

    I want to start encoding and sorting all this if I can. I also have an Apple TV, PS3, iPhone all with latest software versions on. I am starting to test myself but also value other peoples views and tests.

    I also have a NAS drive now which I have my media on
     
  21. newagemac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #21
    I would say just encode everything with Apple TV preset with handbrake for the ATV and then use PS3 Media Server to play the same files on the PS3. Seems the simplest and most fail proof method to me.
     
  22. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #22
    I have my movies etc on my NAS now though so don't use a PC go serve go my PS3 and Apple TV now.

    Apple TV preset seemsto play fine on Apple TV and PS3 though
     

Share This Page