Anyone had issues installing PB2 over DP 6 so far?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by SirithX, Aug 21, 2014.

  1. SirithX macrumors 6502

    SirithX

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Just curious, as I know there are many folks here like to be on the absolute forefront and are willing to give it a shot. Seems like any differences between DP6 and PB2 would be negligible to the vast majority of users, but post if you've noticed anything here.
     
  2. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #2
    Seems like someone would just be causing unnecessary risk of headache for themselves switching DP to PB, to DP, to PB... that bored?
     
  3. nikicampos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #3
    I know, that seems so stupid, if you are a developer stick to DP, and if you are not a developer and like to try and give feedback stick to the PB.

    Not that hard.
     
  4. ironman159 macrumors regular

    ironman159

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #4
    The only thing I would say is: why? I've read in other threads people saying their Finder is broken and some other issues because they changed from DP to PB or viceversa. I don't get them but well :rolleyes:
     
  5. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #5
    I went from PB1 -> DP5 Delta -> DP6 Delta -> PB2 Full Install. Not a clean install, but downloaded the 5.12GB file from the App Store and Installed on top of the DP6 Delta. Things appear to be running a lot smoother, and a lot cooler. CPU temp is running 10-15 degrees cooler.
     
  6. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #6
    Hm.. it shows me - This Code has been already redeemed .. and cannot download the PB2
     
  7. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    If you are on DP6, it should show Beta 2 as a download under purchases. Didn't have to redeem a code.
     
  8. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #8
    Just stick to DP6. It's the same build as PB2.

    ----------

    Shouldn't make a difference. DP6 = PB2.
     
  9. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #9
    Thanks :) It is there as you advised. But still thinking shall I install it over DP6 or not.. The only problem in DP6 is the higher then Mavericks temperature ... if PB2 makes the iMac cooler then DP6, I would try it. But maybe both builds are absolutely the same
     
  10. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #10
    Well the install procedure was different so the results could be different and they are in my case. Instead of doing delta updates it downloaded and installed the entire OS. Took about 30 minutes on the install alone in comparison to 5 minutes with the delta. Maybe I am just the exception and not the rule. All I know is that it's running a lot better now.
     
  11. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #11
    DP6 = Build 14A329f
    PB2 = Build 14A329r

    Agreed that there's not even a full number difference between the two. The only instance I would suggest anyone (re)installing the full 5GB++ PB2 is if they botched a PB1->DP5/6 install and not all the components were updated properly (symptoms like blank Finder windows). For example, if they skipped DP5 Delta and went from PB1->DP6 Delta directly.



    For reference:
    DP4 = 14A298i
    PB1 = 14A299i
     
  12. seme332 macrumors regular

    seme332

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Berlin
    #12
    For me, as of right now, the PB 2 shows up in Purchases (did the PB 1 > DP 5/6 thing) but when I click "Download" nothing happens. Are Apples Server just very overused right now or has anybody else this problem updating from DP6?

    Thanks!
     
  13. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #13
    I had the same behavior. I trashed the old PB1 installer that was in /Applications and I was able to download PB2 without issue from the MAS.
     
  14. seme332 macrumors regular

    seme332

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Berlin
    #14
    THANKS!

    That finally worked! :)
     
  15. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #15
    Just uploaded the PB2 over DP6. All is fine. No problems, no freezes and errors, no difference between DP6 and PB2... the WiFi is stable (1300 - 1170 rate all the time), feedback app works fine.. the CPU/HDD temperature is still almost the same as in DP6, in general-higher then Mavericks 10.9, but within limits (in idle, 37-38 degreesC, while in mavericks is 29-31 degrees C)
     
  16. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #16
    I just got the issue with the Preview.. It crashes. (I updated from DP6 to PB2). The case is reported to Apple
     

Share This Page