Anyone have a 90W Apple Cinema Display Power Adaptor?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 128keaton, May 31, 2015.

  1. 128keaton, May 31, 2015
    Last edited: May 31, 2015

    128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #1
    Well, today I got extremely lucky and received a MacPro 4,1, my first 64Bit EFI desktop mac with an Intel CPU :D. My other MacPro, a 1,1 was a 32Bit. Anyway, along with the Mac Pro, I got a 23" Apple Cinema Display without a power supply, bummer. A new supply is about as much as a newer, lighter (lol) monitor. I was wondering if any of the forum members had a spare power adapter. I thought I'd post here since its kinda-related to PowerPC (a 2004 monitor). The owner is searching his house for the original one, but he isn't sure where it is.

    EDIT: in case I didnt make myself clear, PM me with a deal.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #2
    I assume we're speaking of the aluminum Cinema Display?
     
  3. 128keaton, May 31, 2015
    Last edited: May 31, 2015

    128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #3
    Yes, the 1st generation of it.

    EDIT: I couldnt put this thread in the Marketplace anyway, it doesnt show up yet.
     
  4. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
  5. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    I have a 20 inch cinema display that came with out a PSU (and had the sense wire issue) so I Just took a 3rd party 65W iBook G4 charger lopped the end off the charger and cinema display and spliced the 2 together and has been working lovely ever since :) (both an ibook charger and a cinema display PSU are 24V) oh and if you are realy in a pinch the 24V ACD out on PowerMac PSUs will also power a aluminum cinema display of 20 inches and 23 inches (the 30 inch display requires 150W witch is too much for a PowerMac G4s ACD line)
     
  6. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #6
    Ha I thought about doing something like that. I unfortunately need 90W. So I'll look into some other power supply
     
  7. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey/ North Virginia, USA
    #7
    I've saw plenty on shopgoodwill.com. Just search "Apple" in Computers & Electronics and then I believe there are several, most are still at minimum bid (either $5 or $9.99). The problem with SGW is that shipping fees are stupidly high, so you could get something for $5, but have to pay $20 in S&H fees.
     
  8. 128keaton, Jun 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #8
    That was the first place I checked, they have a 65W available http://www.shopgoodwill.com/auctions/Apple-Cinema-Display-65W-Power-Adapter-A1096-21896786.html, but no 90W. Fortunately, a DIY adaptor really only involves splicing the original tip off.
     
  9. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #9
    Ok, I ended up ordering a cheap power supply
     
  10. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey/ North Virginia, USA
    #10
    Good to hear!
     
  11. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #11
    What's the limit on the ADC line? I know that the CRT is 110W or so.
     
  12. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    well the power limit on the 24V ACD line is 92.5W on my MDD (it says 25V 3.7A) but the ACD connector on my ATI radeon 9000 that came with said MDD says 28V 4A max so I am slightly confused LOL
     
  13. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #13
    Alright! My 'DIY' one worked and I documented how I did it. Editing in FCPX right now on the new monitor :D.
    As you can see, @eyoungren isn't the only one who is monitor-crazy!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #14
    You have two more monitors to go. :D

    Glad you have it working though! :)
     
  15. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #15
    I'll need a hex-VESA mount to get that :)
     

Share This Page