Anyone have any issues since upgrading to JB3.1 on 3GS?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lionheartednyhc, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #1
    I just finished making the custom FW with pwnage tool and am still debating whether I want to restore or not..

    Mainly, Im just worried about any issues with 3.1 i.e. battery etc. My 3.0 has been very stable.

    Has anyone experienced anything? Are you glad you updated, or do you wish you stayed at 3.0?
     
  2. pasipple macrumors 6502a

    pasipple

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #2
    No issues for me...everything went smoothly for me.

    The only issue that I have that I'm aware of is the documented issue with the carrier icons not showing up on the menu bar.

    Give it a go!
     
  3. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS (White, 32GB): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7C144 Safari/528.16)

    Same here. A smooth, painless upgrade.
     
  4. Rolala macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #4
    Hi Mavis, does the carrier logo show up for you?

    Is this issue only for those who unlock their phones or everyone upgraded to 3.1?
     
  5. Ewan Hoozarmy macrumors regular

    Ewan Hoozarmy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #5
    If you pwn your phone to 3.1 without upgrading the baseband, you won't have the carrier logo regardless of whether you have unlocked or not.

    A small price to pay....
     
  6. Oliver.m macrumors regular

    Oliver.m

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Essex, England
    #6
    Do you have to have saved your information on that server in order to upgrade?

    If i didn't can i just restore or will it not work?

    Sorry if this is a stupid question.
     
  7. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #7
    You don't need it to upgrade but you'll need if you ever want to restore to something not sign by Apple i.e. 3.0/3.0.1 or 3.1 when 3.1.1 or 3.2 comes out
     
  8. Oliver.m macrumors regular

    Oliver.m

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Essex, England
    #8
    Right OK thanks for that. Just wasn't sure but makes sense now. Can upgrade, but if i do, can't downgrade again back to a previous one.
     
  9. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    Carrier issue is to me an non-issue. I use MIM anyway so I just put what I want in that carrier name space. I suppose you could just put ATT or AT&T in there with MIM.

    One issue I am having is that my themed icons are not all working. Some are the themed version while some are the standard version. I understand that this may be an issue with Winterboard on 3.1. It probably has something to do with the gui in 3.1 to set your springboard up via iTunes.

    Go for it. Stable, no battery issues, and you get 3.1 only apps back (like Yelp).
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    I have 3G not 3GS and will not go to 3GS due to all the IPSW signing issues. Once the DevTeam gets a real stable fix for that, I will get a 3GS.

    I did a 2nd JB on 3.1 as after my first I had some issues, but not the battery issue.

    I restored to stock 3.0, then re-JB to 3.1

    Only issue I have now is no carrier logo. I recommend choosing set up as new phone so the previous JB gremlins can't follow you.

    Every other issue I had from 1st JB is cured.

    I say go for it.
     
  11. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #11
    Might as well just wait for next years iPhone like I am :p
     
  12. bakerster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #12
    the only real issue that i had when upgrading was that you don't put your 3gs into recovery mode to restore like you do to all the other devices. it scared me.
     
  13. lionheartednyhc thread starter macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #13
    You don't? I thought it said you were supposed to?

    What is the difference anyways from restoring when its just plugged in and restoring in recovery mode?
     
  14. scottuf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    NPB, FL
    #14
    you DO put it into recovery mode (turn off, hold down home, plug in). you DON'T put into DFU mode.
     
  15. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #15
    It's designed to plug it into iTunes when it's in recovery mode, so Itunes starts by itself.

    Just remember to option click (hint keep the custom restore IPSW in a separate place than official ipsw so no mistake in selection happens)
     
  16. lionheartednyhc thread starter macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #16
    So no one has experienced the weird battery issues?
     
  17. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #17
    my question is if i used quickpwn to JB my 3GS can i make a custom 3.1 firmware using pwnage tool?

    or are those that used quickpwn screwed until the dev team can figure something out?

    cydia hashed my information (at least i think it did) im not sure if that will effect my being able to 3.1 JB maybe i can restore to a 3.0 FW and use pwnagetool to create the custom 3.0 .ispw then go to 3.1?
     

Share This Page