Anyone having trouble with ipad3 magnet?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by spinedoc77, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. spinedoc77 macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    I've got a couple of Acase cases which work perfectly with my ipad2 in turning on/off my ipad when opened/closed. Neither of them work with my ipad3, I was wondering if anyone else had success using any kind of ipad2 case with the ipad3 and having the magnets function properly?
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    It sounds like more of a problem with your third party case than with the iPad. I have the official Smart Cover and am having zero issues with it.
     
  3. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #3
    Yep lots of threads here about cases not working as Apple moved the sensors. Do NOT buy the Targus Slim for the iPad 3 as it does not work. Amazon will be seeing the $50 case come back soon!
     
  4. spinedoc77 thread starter macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #4
    Yeah that's what I'm thinking, but I wonder why. I wonder if there is some hardware difference in the ipad3 which doesn't let my cases work with it. I've got a smart cover laying around somewhere in the house that I never use that I can use to test it, just have to find it.
     
  5. jahman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Mine seems to have stopped working. Cheapo black leather case that worked fine with my iPad 2. Hmm...
     
  6. drb1992 macrumors 6502

    drb1992

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #6
    People have been reporting that third-party cases haven't been working with the new iPad.
     
  7. MacBlackBook22 macrumors 6502

    MacBlackBook22

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Yes I am having the same problem I wasn't sure if my magnets were even working I was going to bring the ipad back to the store and try the flip cover that is made for it as the new case I bought for the ipad isn't triggering the on/off function
     
  8. jahman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    It's not a major issue at the moment tbh. May not even bother replacing.
     
  9. TRACON macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #9
    Targus Slim line for iPad3 ...... Fail !

    Another verified failure of the Targus (like them normally) Slim line case for iPad3.:mad:
     
  10. tekchic macrumors 65816

    tekchic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    My original launch day iPad 2 SmartCover still works, but I think they did change magnet placement so it broke a lot of case designs.
     

Share This Page