Anyone here uses a MacBook Air with Aperture 3?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by HarryPot, Jul 20, 2011.

1. HarryPot macrumors 6502a

I'm not a professional photographer, and don't need to have a super fast system to process enormous amounts of photos. But I would like to have a laptop capable enough to handle RAW photos from a D7000 and edit them.

I know nobody has used the new MBA to give me real life usage, but how do you think they will work with Aperture 3?

2. mofunk macrumors 68000

mofunk

You could go to an Apple store and try it out.

I've seen the benchmarks for MBAir... and it would be better if you go with a MBP 13in. because you need more processing speed for all that rendering. If you are shooting RAW you will need more hard drive space.

Sorry but You will need a fast system to process all those photos lol I don't shoot a lot but I've managed to shoot atleast 5000 photos a year.

3. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

Every time I go to the Apple store i get on one of the 11" MacBook Airs and launch Aperture. Using their sample gallery I try to bog it down and so far haven't been very successful. And this is on the base model with just 2GB RAM. I have been very impressed with the Air's performance. However, I haven't tried exporting or batch processing a bunch of photos to see how it handles that. Maybe I'll try that next time I go in to check out the new hardware.

4. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

I use a mid-2009 MBA with Aperture 3 for sorting and minor tweaking. Since the SSD has limited space, I don't use my full library on it.

It works. It is not as fast as my 27" iMac but it does work fine. The newer ones will be even better.

5. blevins321 macrumors 68030

Ive found that editing works pretty well, but initial raw imports are sluggish because of preview generation being a processor intensive task. Im not in a hurry when I import photos though, so this doesn't bother me.

6. HarryPot thread starter macrumors 6502a