Anyone install Opti-Bay on the i7/i5 Macbook Pros?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jjahshik32, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #1
    Curious if its different than the previous generation in terms of installation?

    Will the current opti-bay offerings even fit in the new macbook pros?

    My 80GB Intel SSD is wearing thin and I could definitely use my hitachi 7200 RPM 500GB hdd with the optibay.
     
  2. grahamwright1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    North of the Border
    #2
    I'll let you know later this week - I just ordered a similar mounting bracket from eBay to do this. If you are interested, it's this one.
     
  3. Jaxdialation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #4
    I installed on in my i7 17". It took a couple of hours. The directions do not reflect the look of a mid-2010 MBP. But everything went fine.
     
  4. grahamwright1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    North of the Border
    #5
    Installed successfully, although there were no instructions with it! I have the original 500Gb 7200 drive in the SuperDrive space, and a Corsair Force 100 SSD in place of the original drive. Performance is very good, but battery life seems to have dropped a bit with the second HD in place.

    Overall, a good upgrade.
     

Share This Page