Anyone installed 64bit Widows 7 RC via Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by definitive, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #1
    I'm interested in installing it on a Early 2009 iMac with 4850 Radeon.

    Were there any issues installing it? Do the drivers on Leopard 10.5.6 DVD work? Anything I should be aware about before installing?
     
  2. redraidermacman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #2
    bootcamp wont let you install 64bit, i think there is a workaround, but im not sure where it is....
     
  3. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
  4. galstaph macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #4
    I've done it on my early 09 mac pro... imac might vary (likely not)
    drivers work off the disk, you just might have to install them manually...
    the windows 7 RC does have an efi boot as well as bios boot, so you can either partition and install or use bootcamp (although with bootcamp you need to ensure you let windows format the proper partition before it will work), but sometimes you have to try a couple of times to get it to install right
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    The workaround is installing it. You're completely incorrect; it works fine.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Actually some older models might run into an EFI issue for trying to boot off of the optical drive for the 64-bit version. It's corrected on newer Macs but the image needs to be reworked in order to install on older hardware.

    There are several other threads on this as well.
     
  7. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Works fine. The Boot Camp driver setup will complain, but there's a 64-bit installer included on the DVD if you look :)
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Not for pre-2008 models.
     
  9. cainnovacaine macrumors regular

    cainnovacaine

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    I've done it on a couple of machines. Its not something I would do without an internet connection as a prerequisite. If Boot Camp lets you install just fine follow these directions after you've booted into Windows. Insert your leopard disc, either being a retail copy or the grey boot disc that came with your machine (don't autorun it, just ignore or do nothing)

    Open the start menu and type "cmd" and when the option comes up in the menu, right click and choose to run cmd as an administrator.

    Type as follows, with bracketed instructions not written

    D:
    [ENTER]
    cd "Boot Camp\Drivers\Apple"
    [ENTER, and note the use of slash and back-slash]
    msiexec /i BootCamp64.msi
    [ENTER]

    And that should install the proper drivers, instead of the 32 bit. This isn't necessary on all mac builds.

    Then run Windows update, it should fine the correct drivers that you need.
     
  10. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    The OP is not installing it on an old model.
     
  11. definitive thread starter macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #11
    yeah i tried that bootcamp64.msi command. only problem is that once it began installing drivers, it showed nvidia graphics (not sure why), and then after about 5 seconds it gave me a bsod.

    i want to install the missing hardware (such as audio), and the icon in task tray to switch to osx.
     
  12. itommyboy macrumors 6502a

    itommyboy

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Titletown USA
    #12

    I've had it running well on same iMac for awhile now. No major issues installing it. Most of the drivers on that DVD should work but I think I had to web around for audio drivers and then updated the 4850 drivers as well once up and running. Come to think of it I think I had to download Network Card drivers to but it's been awhile.

    I am still unable to use boot camp control panel to restart from Windoze back to OSX but hardly a big deal - to me anyway. I'm kind of surprised at how responsive and fast Windows 7 x64 seems to be - so far pretty nice OS from the Redmond boys. Although it's probably this Mac that full throttle's it so well ( 3.06Ghz w/ 8GB of DD3 RAM ). Go ahead and give it a shot you should get things to work fine. Even if you have to do a bit of tweaking it's a good learning experience and the price is right, for now.
     
  13. cainnovacaine macrumors regular

    cainnovacaine

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    That sounds a bit of a conflict. Does your machine have an nvidea card in it, or is it one of the older x3100's?
     

Share This Page